Author Topic: Secure build for a newbie  (Read 790 times)

Offline Niloticus1

• I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Secure build for a newbie
« on: January 02, 2021, 12:53:31 pm »
Hi folks (and happy new year),

I'm a total newbie, both on here and to Linux, but I'm keen to buy or build a (relatively) cheap Linux machine to act as a secure machine for financial stuff (banking, shares, crypto etc). At the same time I'd like to set up a new email address with a very secure service provider (I was recently pwn'd.....).

I'm considering a barebones build using an older nuc (probably an 8th gen i3), or possibly trying to resurrect an old Asus UX32 laptop with a new ssd (I'm much less keen on starting out with this option).

Alternatively, I might be interested in buying a machine with linux pre-installed (although I'm sceptical about this for security reasons, particularly the cheaper machines). I did see that Simplynuc will supply machines with Linux preinstalled, although they seem relatively expensive compared to buying the components.

Edit: I saw that some suppliers will flash Lenovo X series laptops to coreboot/libreboot, which might be an option if I can source a refurbed machine.

I'd be really grateful for any guidance.

Cheers!
« Last Edit: January 02, 2021, 01:59:28 pm by Niloticus1 »

Offline Keith

• Global Moderator
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Secure build for a newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2021, 03:25:23 pm »
Hello Nilo - and welcome to the Forum.

Is the Asus UX32 so old?  I found the spec of the Asus UX32A which looks very good.  Or are you looking for a desktop?

There are Linux-preinstalled machines available but you are right - they can be rather expensive. 
If you want to build a desktop, this can be done considerably cheaper then buying ready-built and you might like to look at https://linuxforums.org.uk/index.php?topic=13782.msg111949#new

As for security: