Author Topic: Not seeking help really, just an observation  (Read 653 times)

Offline ahead

• I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Not seeking help really, just an observation
« on: April 28, 2021, 10:36:38 am »
I have been using Linux Mint and Ubuntu now exclusively for about ten years. I love them.....apart from the never ending, constant inability of all the Linux systems I have used to talk to printers wirelessly. It drives me round the bend, totally inconsistent, sometimes they'll print, sometimes not - I have had Brother, HP, Epsom and Canon, inkjet and laser....easy to print? Not on your nelly! When are the developers going to borrow a leaf from Microsoft and develop an o/s that automatically  speaks to all printers at ALL times. As for wireless scanning? FORGET IT! I have totally given up on THAT one!
Is this one reason why Windows has universal appeal?
We are not all geeky IT boffins who talk only in binary - we are customers who just want a computer to do it's job without the hassle of messing around all day pleading and begging it to perform.
Linux please take note.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2021, 06:17:28 pm by Keith »

Online Keith

• Global Moderator
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Not seeking help really, just an observation
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2021, 06:16:10 pm »
I'm sorry you have been having so much trouble.  I, also, have been using Linux for about ten years and have had difficulty with only one printer.  Many printer manufacturers don't support Linux very well so the the Linux community itself writes drivers for them, and this can take a while. 

By far the best manufacturer is HP who support Linux very well indeed and provides the "HP Linux Imaging & Printing" system which you can download here: https://developers.hp.com/hp-linux-imaging-and-printing.  It is an excellent HP printer manager and will find your HP printer wirelessly.