Author Topic: Brother Printer problem (SOLVED)  (Read 639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #30 on: January 11, 2022, 05:55:11 pm »
Use the System>Printers, Don. 

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #31 on: January 11, 2022, 06:52:25 pm »
I don't know what to do ?? It  says Select a Device and gives an option of "Enter URI" or "Network Printer". What am I looking for ? a  network  printer ??
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #31 on: January 11, 2022, 06:52:25 pm »

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #32 on: January 11, 2022, 07:08:19 pm »
Network printer.

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #33 on: January 11, 2022, 07:28:55 pm »
I'm sorry Keith, I haven't a clue as to what is happening here. It will take forever to get this sorted. I now have 2 options, "Find Network printer" or "Windows Printer via Samba". Whichever I select it throw up more multiple choice questions or just plain questions that I haven't a clue as to how to answer.
I think we will need to call it quits here as it is far to complicated. I know I can work on this Linux machine and save my work to a pen drive and plug that straight in to the printer.
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #34 on: January 11, 2022, 07:34:17 pm »
Don't worry, Don.  Just try Find Network printer which is, after all, what we want it to do, and post the choices it gives you.

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #34 on: January 11, 2022, 07:34:17 pm »

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #35 on: January 11, 2022, 08:04:27 pm »
OK, when I choose Find Network Printer it gives me a dialogue box that says Host: beside a blank box looks like I need to tell it the Host ?
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #36 on: January 12, 2022, 10:13:21 am »
In the Host box type the printer IP address that you found earlier, click on the "Find" button and report the results.   

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #37 on: January 12, 2022, 07:55:08 pm »
Hi Keith,
I have carried out your suggestion and this is what happened
When I enter the IP in the 'Host' box, another box opens underneath that says 'Port Number' and it is 9100
On the left side of the page under 'Network Printer' there is a long list of addresses, at the top (and selected ) is JetDirect (192.168.0.95), the next line down says 'IPP (192.168.0.95) and below that is a long list of lines all saying '192.168.0.95
On the right at the bottom of the page underneath where it says 'Port Number' is a box headed 'Connection' and it says in this box "AppSocket/HP JetDirect"
On top of all this is a dialogue box that says
"Authentication"
"You must log in to access 192.168.0.95"
Username
Domain
Password
with cancel/ok buttons below that
I am afraid that is as much as I can do at the moment so I will wait to hear what you think
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #38 on: January 13, 2022, 11:45:38 am »
Quote
"Authentication"
"You must log in to access 192.168.0.95"
Username
Domain
Password
It looks like it's asking you to access your router to validate your changes but I recognise only "Password" - I've never had to enter Username or Domain on my system. 

I'll look through your posts and have another think. 

Keith

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #38 on: January 13, 2022, 11:45:38 am »

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #39 on: January 13, 2022, 01:40:33 pm »
Thanks for sticking with this Keith. I have lost all interest in printing using Linux. The Win10 machine prints what I want and I can download the stuff I want printed from this Linux machine to a pen drive and plug it straight in to the printer.
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #40 on: January 13, 2022, 02:08:30 pm »
OK Don.

I am sorry that I haven't been able to help you.  Perhaps another Member will have the solution, and if I find it I'll let you know.

Keith

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #41 on: January 13, 2022, 04:13:09 pm »
You would think it would be a bit easier than this to install a printer on a Linux system. I have tried repeatedly to use the instructions from the Brother site but keep coming to a halt at different points and I don't understand what they are looking for most of the time. I may go to Peppermint OS in the states and see if they have any ideas.
Thanks again for trying and I will be in touch if anything turns up.
take care and stay safe
Don W
 
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

Offline Keith

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 20
  • Gender: Male
  • Linux Novice
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem
« Reply #42 on: January 13, 2022, 06:12:18 pm »
Yes, please do tell us if you find the solution.

Best wishes, Don

Keith

Offline donwatson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • Getting older
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Brother Printer problem (SOLVED)
« Reply #43 on: January 14, 2022, 10:09:39 am »
I finally found a site that solved my problem. I can't remember a name or where the links are but I will look for them and see what I can find, although I don't have a great hope of finding anything as it was yesterday afternoon and I have forgotten everything.
Don
Novatech build
Intel Celeron CPU 1.80 Ghz   Memory 4.00GB (3.71GB usable)
Peppermint 9    64 bit     500 GB HD        496 GB Ext 4
4.0GB Swap Partition    4.0GB Extended Partition   1.1Mb Free Space
External 2TiB HD

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal