Author Topic: Remote desktop  (Read 4661 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hyderpotter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Well Hello there.
    • View Profile
    • Mark Hyder's Christmas Web Site
    • Awards
Remote desktop
« on: July 08, 2010, 07:22:43 am »
Hi Mark here and yes I am new.

I would like to know is there a Remote desktop for Linux?

Thanks

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2010, 07:28:57 am »
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 07:35:56 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline hyderpotter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Well Hello there.
    • View Profile
    • Mark Hyder's Christmas Web Site
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2010, 07:35:36 am »
yes rdesktop, NX (or freeNX) etc.

Thanks, It hard to setup?

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2010, 07:35:54 am »
Nope... rdesktop is very easy to setup
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline hyderpotter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Well Hello there.
    • View Profile
    • Mark Hyder's Christmas Web Site
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2010, 07:43:01 am »
Nope... rdesktop is very easy to setup

At the mo, I download Linux to my netbook. I am using (Windoes 7 Starter) and I can not use Remote desktop.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2010, 07:47:11 am »
What are you trying to achieve... rdesktop will allow you to see/control your Win7 PC from your Linux PC if that's what you are trying to do.

you might also want to install grdesktop, tsclient or gnome-rdp (if you use the gnome desktop) GUI front ends for rdesktop, or krdesktop or krdc for the KDE desktop
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 08:58:20 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline hyderpotter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Well Hello there.
    • View Profile
    • Mark Hyder's Christmas Web Site
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2010, 07:56:09 am »
What are you trying to achieve... rdesktop will allow you to see/control your Win7 PC from your Linux PC if that's what you are trying to do.

I was getting some info. I would like to use Remote desktop, But you can not use Remote desktop within Windoes & Starter. I have been using logmein.

I am hoping it will work within Linux.


Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2010, 08:02:57 am »
if there is no Remote desktop for Win7 starter, you could always use VNC

see:
http://www.uvnc.com/
or
http://www.tightvnc.com/

Not sure about UltraVNC, but TightVNC runs on both Linux and Windows
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 08:04:57 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline shtromm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 2
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • IT Consultants - IT consultant specialised in Free Software
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2010, 08:13:49 am »
Or you just can use the ssh-protocol with x-server forwarding - e.g.:

Code: [Select]
me@localbox$ ssh -X remotebox
password:
me@remotebox$ startx

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2010, 08:24:15 am »
What PC are you trying to control, Win or Linux?... and from what?

[Edit]
I'm a bit baffled here... Apparently all versions of Win7 include an RDP client, but the Starter, Home Basic and Home Premium versions don't include an RDP server... so if you payed a fortune for Win7 Premium you can't access a cheap version, but if you bought the cheap version you can access ANY version, what sense does that make.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 09:10:18 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mad Penguin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1432
  • Karma: 10021
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Linux in the UK
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2010, 09:12:22 am »
See this page;
http://www.linux.co.uk/index.php/pages/page1/an-introduction-to-linux-as-a-server/

("as a terminal server for remote users")

- Terminal Services on Linux == NX == nomachine.org, 1-2 user license is free.

Offline hyderpotter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Well Hello there.
    • View Profile
    • Mark Hyder's Christmas Web Site
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2010, 11:37:42 pm »
Is there a rdesktop.deb file?

Offline shtromm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 2
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • IT Consultants - IT consultant specialised in Free Software
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2010, 11:49:44 pm »
Is there a rdesktop.deb file?

The remote desktop is handled e.g. via the ssh-server, so the sshd-package would do.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2010, 11:58:08 pm »
There probably is somewhere... but why not install through your package manager... always the best way to install software (if it's available in the repos).

or with

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install rdesktop
and if you also want a GUI front end for it
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install tsclient

But I'm still not convinced rdesktop is what you need... if you are trying to control the Win7(starter) desktop from a Linux box, it won't work unless the Win7 box is acting as an RDP server, which you say it isn't.
If this IS what you're trying to achieve, VNC seems like the way to go... maybe you could cobble something together with SSH and Cygwin but VNC wold be easier.

Again...What are you trying to do? (ie. which computer (OS) are you trying to control, and from what (OS))
« Last Edit: July 15, 2010, 12:20:28 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline hyderpotter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Well Hello there.
    • View Profile
    • Mark Hyder's Christmas Web Site
    • Awards
Re: Remote desktop
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2010, 12:23:54 am »
When I download rdesktop it a tar.gz file and I do not know what to do when I open it.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal