Author Topic: Inbound calls  (Read 2962 times)

Offline Lion

• I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Inbound calls
« on: May 30, 2010, 08:55:24 pm »
Hi all,

im new to the linux world and im a complete noob , and i know ive plunged myself in the deep end with what im goin to ask
but the idea is, the company i work for use a call centre for our security check calls and they really arent anything to do with us
so what id like to do is setup a "work home version" of the same thing
now i remember readin awhile back that apache was pretty good for providing this sort of thing but obviously times a change with softwares so...

the help id like is this :

What hardware would i need from my telephone port in the wall and the component(s) id need in my pc (im thinkin voice modem on an rj11 connection)
Which distro of linux would be ideal and softwares to run the recieving and dialling of landline phone calls only (Landline > pc or pc> Landline),
and if possible to assign an extension number or two
i'll tailor a pc build round the softwares

I do not need to make internet calls

Thanks for any help

Lion

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

• "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Inbound calls
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 09:21:19 pm »
Modems shouldn't be a problem with Linux, but I'm a bit lost as to what "exactly" you are trying to achieve?

Can you provide further info.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mad Penguin

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Awards
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2010, 10:14:59 pm »
Ok, Mark's right, but I'm going to make a guess anyway .. :)