Author Topic: My general help questions  (Read 21940 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Smither

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Certified youtube browser
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #30 on: April 14, 2010, 07:53:30 pm »
No, sorry, the dll's have nothing to do with it.
There are 6 games from the "Touhou" series that I like to play, and some of the more recent ones need some dll's put in their folders to run, even in Windows, but I've just tried to play one of the earlier ones, which works "out of the box" (or rar file here) in both Windows and Linux, but I wasn't even given a choice to use wine, it just opened with the Archive manager.

tl;dr Wine is still not properly installed on my computer. Not after you're commands, not after the recommendations I was given by the terminal after your commands had finnished.

EDIT: Just told me wine isn't installed. :/
(click to show/hide)
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 08:19:57 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #31 on: April 14, 2010, 07:58:48 pm »
You can't run an exe DIRECTLY from you windows partition, as the required dll's aren't in your ~/.wine/drive_c/windows directory.

you have to INSTALL the program through WINE.

[Edit]
My mistake... Apparently you can, and it will pick the dll's up from the windows drive/partition
« Last Edit: April 15, 2010, 06:16:01 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #32 on: April 14, 2010, 08:04:12 pm »
in Linux... right click on a .exe file and select open with another application...scroll down till you find wine windows program loader... highlight it and select open.

if its not in the list...click use a custom command type wine, and select open.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #33 on: April 14, 2010, 08:10:34 pm »
try installing WINE from the package manager, or download the .deb file from here and double click it to install

http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/archive/ubuntu/jaunty/wine_1.1.38~winehq0~ubuntu~9.04-0ubuntu1_i386.deb

I know it says it's for jaunty, but it's supposed to be for karmic too.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 08:16:25 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Smither

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Certified youtube browser
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #34 on: April 14, 2010, 08:15:12 pm »
Well it worked like that before.

I still don't have a .wine folder in my home folder.

I went back to the C:\Program Files (x86)\Touhou Games\ and tried a couple of them, english and japanese versions, and selected Open with Other application... and I tried everything beginning with W:
Code: [Select]
winebrowser
winebrower
winebrower
winhlp32
wordpad
wordpad
and even typing "wine" as a custom comand, but they all gave the message:
Could not find application.
Could not find wine.

EDIT: Downloaded that .deb file and holy crap, it works!
Well, one of the Touhou games starts up and shows the loading screen.
brb testing everything else then updating.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 08:21:16 pm by Smither »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #35 on: April 14, 2010, 08:17:27 pm »
try reinstalling WINE from the synaptic package manager
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #36 on: April 14, 2010, 08:21:07 pm »
or try
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install wine1.2
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #37 on: April 14, 2010, 08:36:16 pm »
I THINK I've found the answer....you were getting 404 errors from the repo you were using to install from...be right back with the answer.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #38 on: April 14, 2010, 08:43:20 pm »
got to System->Administration->Software Sources
Then select the Third Party Software tab and click Add

in the Apt Line:
ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa
and click Add Source

Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update

now try reinstalling wine1.2 from the synaptic package manager.
.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 09:03:05 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Smither

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Certified youtube browser
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #39 on: April 14, 2010, 08:48:11 pm »
Wait, but I just updated my whole system and had no problems, how could I be getting 404's from (presumably) the same place?

Meh, I don't care because IT WORKS!!

Well, sometimes the Touhou games crash on the loading screen, on don't play sound, or are kinda laggy (eventhough the display in the games says 60fps), and they crashed my File browser and even my Gnome session once, but that was happening before.

Even Steam's working!
Well, I'm logged in, but it takes forever to load and the community pages are taking even longer to load.
But I just got the chat to work, so I don't care!
Thanks a lot! :)

(btw, this is all by going to my Win7 partition and double clicking on the .exe files directly)

EDIT: Just tried adding to the software sources and it didn't work.
But that's ok, I think I'll leave wine as it is now, I don't want to suffer a regression and have to go through with this again. :)
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 08:51:34 pm by Smither »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #40 on: April 14, 2010, 08:50:56 pm »
You're welcome

Thinking about it an .exe run from your windows partition would look for the dll's there first :)

BTW, I think you are getting the 404 errors because one of the PPA repo's (http://ppa.launchpad.net) may be blacklisted for the UK
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 09:17:38 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #41 on: April 14, 2010, 08:57:04 pm »
To correct the sound problems....try running

Code: [Select]
winecfg

Select the audio tab, and it should set the sound for you....apply/OK
:)
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 09:00:18 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Smither

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Certified youtube browser
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #42 on: April 14, 2010, 09:12:31 pm »
Dx
OK, well all the Steam windows "follow" me.
As in, I start them up on desktop 3, and a switch back to desktop 1, where firefox is, and all the steam windows move to desktop 1, but are still at desktop 3's position. So I can select, minimize, maximize and close the windows, but they don't appear onscreen for desktops 1 or 2, only on 3.

Also making links doesn't work. I like to log into Steam and join my group's chat as soon as I boot up, but I have to wade through my C folder to get there atm, and making links to the C:/Program Files (86)/Steam/ folder and to the Steam.exe file in it don't work when I click them.

And the sound thing is just glitches. Starting the program again, or going full screen for a sec (if it doesn't crash anything vital) solves the problem. I can live with it.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 09:14:22 pm by Smither »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 477
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #43 on: April 14, 2010, 09:26:39 pm »
You've lost me as far as the multiple desktops goes... can you explain again. what is the command in the links you are creating?

right click the link, select Properties, and look in the  Command:   field
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Smither

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Certified youtube browser
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: My general help questions
« Reply #44 on: April 24, 2010, 09:11:12 pm »
Ok, first, the new home page . . . not sure what its for, but w/e.

Now, simple question: How do you get sound coming in to be immediately played back through speakers?

I know its possible because I've just done it in win7.
I have a keyboard and I want be able to let some friends hear it, but up until now I've just been raising the volume of the keyboard, plugging my headset into the microphone jack, and letting the microphone record the keyboard's speakers. Not ideal, as you'd agree.


OK, new plan.
I have a headset (stereo mic with stereo headphones), two speakers, and a keyboard with an output jack.
My computer has the usual green out and pink mic in the front and green out, blue in and pink mic at the back.
It has a 5.1 onboard soundcard and a digital out, though that's less important.

I have some friends on Steam that I'd like to be able to play my keyboard to (the quality is terrible so we use text to communicate) and I have some other friends in Skype that want to call me. Is it possible to let my stream friends hear only my piano and let my skype friends hear only me voice through my mic?
I also need to hear the keyboard, and as plugging a jack in the output silences it's speakers, need whatever mic or in jack its connected to to be played straight back through my speakers. Whether the keyboard's sound and the skype pone call mix in for my output doesn't matter.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal