Author Topic: Ubisurfer security question  (Read 6127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Ubisurfer security question
« on: November 09, 2010, 06:08:49 pm »
Hello
First post so hope this makes sense.

I have just purchased an Ubisurfer and when I went onto the internet and went on any pages which required sign in like email etc, the actual letters are showing in the password field rather than appearing as stars, I am just wondering if this is correct?  I have never come across this before and am wondering if I should change my settings somewhere so this does not happen.  I am not very techie minded so not a clue.

Is this what is supposed to happen, as I don't feel it's very safe???

Would appreciate any advice

Thanks

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Ubisurfer security question
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 06:17:34 pm »
Which browser does the ubisurfer use ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline nails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Ubisurfer security question
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2010, 06:26:52 pm »
I think it uses its own Datawind Ubisurfer browser???

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Ubisurfer security question
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2010, 06:44:34 pm »
It seems to be normal for their custom web browser...

Quote
One annoying niggle was that it didn’t obscure passwords when we typed them - not a problem in the office, but not good when on the train


See here:
http://www.computeractive.co.uk/computeractive/hardware/2265736/datawind-ubisurfer-review

Can't find a fix, but I'll keep looking.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline nails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Ubisurfer security question
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2010, 06:49:08 pm »
Thanks for quick answer, doesn't sound very good but at least I know it's 'normal'.

Appreciate your help.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Ubisurfer security question
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2010, 06:53:43 pm »
Are you sure it's custom, according to this the ubisurfer uses the Firefox (Iceweasel) web browser

http://ubisurfer.com.au/manual_UbiSurfer.pdf

If it IS based on Iceweasel it's probably fixable... I'll look for a fix and post it here if I find one.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2010, 06:59:47 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline nails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Ubisurfer security question
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2010, 07:02:27 pm »
I don't get the Firefox option on my system so was assuming that was for wi-fi users and I am using via the built in vodafone line?

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18236
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Ubisurfer security question
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2010, 07:08:20 pm »
AFAIK, Iceweasel is the version of Firefox that other companies are allowed to re-badge (re-brand) and customize... so it won't necessarily say Firefox anywhere.

What is displayed if you select Help>About in the browser ?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2010, 07:09:57 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal