Author Topic: Acer Aspire One running Linpus Linux Lite Skype Install / Uninstall Problem.  (Read 10293 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Hi

I'm running an acer aspire one with linpus linux lite ( I think this is based on Fedora 7??)

We had Skype running on it but the software developed a program so we uninstalled via xfcedesktop and then tried to reinstall it back from the acer support site.

The problem is that when I try and install it - linux seems to think that the program is already there and just states that it is updated.

I have no idea about how to use linux so really would appreciate any help.

Thanks

Vikki

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
to uninstall .rpm packages, open a terminal, and enter:

sudo rpm -e <packagename>

so I'm guessing

Code: [Select]
sudo rpm -e skype


BTW, Linpus Lite is based on Fedora Core 8 :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Hi there

Thanks for this will give this a go and see what happens.

Vikki

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
gave command a go and error message given is

'package skype is not installed'

any ideas

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Where are you getting skype from ?

and how are you trying to install it ?

I take it you downloaded an .rpm package of skype ? .. What is it called ?

you could try installing with the --replacepkgs option, which forces the install to carry on even if it thinks the package is already installed... usually used to fix broken packages.

rpm -iv --replacepkgs <packagename.rpm>
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 09:01:47 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
From Acer support site.

File ends in .sh.

Tried doing it now and os says program has been updated but there is no program in list on xfcedesktop menu nor on the desktop.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Can you give me a link to the page you are getting the .sh file from.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 09:09:41 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Will skype now run from a terminal ?

Code: [Select]
skype

or

Code: [Select]
sudo skype
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
error message terminal is either

bash: skype: command not found

or

sudo: skype: command not found

on both of the commands

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
gimme half an hour or so, I'm going to see if this .sh will install on Linpus Lite 1.4 in a virtual machine, and work out where it's putting skype.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
thanks this is much appreciated

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Hmmm.... Linpus Lite 1.4 is TOTALLY different to your version, and it wouldn't load at all.

Your best bet for now would be to download the Static version of skype:

http://www.skype.com/go/getskype-linux-beta-static

and see if that will run on your Netbook.

To run it, just unpack it, then enter the folder and double-click the skype file.

Then if it works, create your own shortcuts.

If it doesn't work, let me know and I'll see what I can find out
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18208
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
There is another option....

Follow the instructions here:

http://www.reghardware.com/2008/09/05/ten_aspire_one_tips/page3.html

you can download the version of skype they are talking about (no longer available on the skype site) from here:

http://physweb.bgu.ac.il/DOWNLOADS/OLD/

skype-2.0.0.72-fc5.i586.rpm

[EDIT]

If it says that skype is already installed, place the skype-2.0.0.72-fc5.i586.rpm file in your home folder, and install it from a terminal with:

Code: [Select]
rpm -iv --replacepkgs skype-2.0.0.72-fc5.i586.rpm
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 10:31:50 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline vikki

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
It worked!!

Thanks for all your help - this is much appreciated. :)

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal