Author Topic: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite  (Read 23182 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2011, 03:07:35 am »
I think I've found it... see here:
http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1242141

It looks like what was removed when he uninstalled firefox was -

Jul 15 18:41:12 Erased: ame
Jul 15 18:41:13 Erased: smanager
Jul 15 18:41:15 Erased: Thunar
Jul 15 18:41:22 Erased: yelp
Jul 15 18:41:23 Erased: thunar-volman
Jul 15 18:41:24 Erased: firefox
Jul 15 18:41:26 Erased: xfdesktop
Jul 15 18:41:27 Erased: xfdesktop-acer


[EDIT]

DON'T
run the following command yet... read this posting first:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/netbooks/messed-up-firefox-4-installation-on-an-acer-aspire-one/msg48551/#msg48551

[END EDIT]

So this command should reinstall them:
Code: [Select]
sudo yum install firefox xfdesktop xfdesktop-acer ame smanager Thunar yelp thunar-volman
then
Code: [Select]
sudo yum update

then reboot.



You might want to get yum to list all installed packages first, and check if they are missing:
Code: [Select]
yum list installed | more
or export them to a file in your home folder:
Code: [Select]
yum list installed > ~/yum-list.txt

it would also be a good idea to see what was uninstalled around the same time as firefox, by looking through the yum.log:
Code: [Select]
cat /var/log/yum.log | more



I have a feeling the Thunar in that command *may* need a lower case T, so keep an eye out for any messages about that package not existing, and replace with thunar if necessary.



If that gets you back up and running... DO NOT uninstall Firefox 2 again... follow these instructions to install Firefox 4:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/netbooks/install-firefox-4-on-an-acer-aspire-one-running-linpus-lite-linux/



Can you please let me know if this works, so I can pass the info on to others that may have the same issue... Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 03:10:13 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2011, 06:40:18 pm »
Hello,

Sorry I haven't been online for a few days.  Looking at the yum.log shows I did indeed erase exactly the same stuff as you listed.  (ame, smanager, yelp, thunar-volman, Thunar, firefox, xfdesktop, xfdesktop-acer, though I then reinstalled firefox 2- but not the others). 

I get command line access to the AA1 by pressing ctrl-c as it starts up until a command prompt appears.  I can do most things from here, but it does not connect to any networks (ethernet or wireless) so I can't install stuff via yum, the network connections only start when the graphical desktop does.  I can however look for rpms on a different computer and move the files over using a usb stick, as I did for the libstdc++ files. 

I can't find any way to get a terminal when I allow it to start up as far as the broken graphical interface- it connects to networks, firefox 2 runs from the search bar and I can do a desktop search, but there doesn't seem to be a way to open a terminal window (likely because the desktop is missing the above files). 

Any advice on getting net connection/yum working from the command prompt, or shall I just try to find the relevant files and put them on a usb stick? 

Thanks very much. 


Edit to add:  I made a USB rescue disk as suggested, haven't used it as overwriting the machine is obviously the last resort.  Probably all the necessary files are on there, it's a case of knowing which ones to copy over! 
« Last Edit: May 12, 2011, 06:54:45 pm by LauraRhian »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2011, 09:34:29 pm »
Can you post the contents of the /etc/inittab fie .. use the Mint LiveUSB to access it if necessary.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2011, 11:03:52 pm »
#
#  inittab             This file describes how the INIT process should set up
#                          the system in a certain run-level.
#
#  Author:          Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@drinkel.nl.mugnet.org>
#                         Modified for RHS Linux by Marc Ewing and Donnie Barnes
#

#  Default runlevel.  The runlevels used by RHS are:
#       0 - halt  (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#       1 - Single User mode
#       2 - MultiUser, without NFS  (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
#       3 - Full multiUser mode
#       4 - unused
#       5 - X11
#       6 - reboot  (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#
id:5:initdefault:

#  System initialization
si::sysint:/etc/rc.d/rc.S

10:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
11:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
12:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
13:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
14:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
15:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc.5 5
16:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6

#  Trap CTRL-ALT-DELETE
ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

#  When our UPS tells us power has failed, assume we have a few minutes
#  of power left.  Schedule a shutdown for 2 minutes from now.
#  This does, of course, assume you have powerd installed and your
#  UPS connected and working correctly.
pf::powerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"

#  If power was restored before the shutdown kicked in, cancel it.
pr::12345:powerokwait:/sbin/shutdown -c "Power Restored; Shutdown Cancelled"

#  Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty --autologin user tty1
#2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
#3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
#4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
#5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
#6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

#  Run xdm in runlevel 5
#x:5:respawn:/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2011, 11:42:07 pm »
OK, in the  /etc/inittab file, find this section:

Quote
#  Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty --autologin user tty1
#2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
#3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
#4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
#5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
#6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

and uncomment the tty2 through tty6 lines, so it looks like this -

Quote
#  Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty --autologin user tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

Now SAVE the file.

Now in the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, find these 2 options:

Quote
Option “DontZap” “yes”
Option “DontVTSwitch” “yes”

And change the options from "yes" to "no", so they read:

Quote
Option “DontZap” “no”
Option “DontVTSwitch” “no”

Now SAVE the file.

Now reboot the way you normally would (the way that gives you internet access).

Now when you press Crtl+Alt+F2 or F3 through F6, you should be taken to a Virtual Terminal (command prompt)... you'll may be prompted to log on... if you are, I'm hoping the logon credentials are:
Username = user
password = <leave blank>
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #20 on: May 13, 2011, 12:01:02 am »
Sadly this didn't work- I made and saved the changes, but pressing Ctrl-Alt-F3 (or F4 etc- or for that matter F1) simply flashes to a black screen then back to the broken desktop.  Same thing happens with Alt-F1 (etc) and Alt- l/r arrow. 

I have set a password on the 'user' account (doesn't ask for it on startup, but does from 'lock' mode).  But I wasn't prompted to login. 


Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #21 on: May 13, 2011, 01:56:19 am »
OK, try this...

The following is for a "wired" connection to the router, NOT a "wireless" connection.

Edit the /etc/resolv.conf file

If there is anything in it such as:
Quote
nameserver 208.67.222.222


Comment it/them out, so they look like this
Quote
#nameserver 208.67.222.222
#nameserver 208.67.220.220


Now add a new nameserver line with your routers IP:
Quote
nameserver 192.168.1.1


and SAVE the file.

Back in the terminal (command prompt), bring the network interface down with these commands:
(one or both may fail, but it doesnt matter, it just means it isn't up at the moment anyway).

Code: [Select]
sudo ifdown eth0
sudo ifconfig eth0 down

Now bring the interface back up with:
Code: [Select]
sudo ifconfig eth0 192.16.1.11 netmask 255.255.255.0

Hopefully you will now have a working internet connection with domain name resolution... you can test it from the command line with:
Code: [Select]
ping -c 5 google.com

[EDIT]

DON'T
run the following command yet... read this posting first:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/netbooks/messed-up-firefox-4-installation-on-an-acer-aspire-one/msg48551/#msg48551

[END EDIT]

Now try the:
Code: [Select]
sudo yum install firefox xfdesktop xfdesktop-acer ame smanager Thunar yelp thunar-volman
command.



If this works, before you disappear, can you please post instructions on how you are booting to a command line... so I can write up full instructions for others that are finding themselves in the same boat.

I'm sure there are going to be quite a few of them, as the 3 topics covering the missing desktop issue have been getting a LOT of hits since you first brought the problem to my attention.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 03:08:32 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline oddu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #22 on: May 13, 2011, 01:22:08 pm »
Hi Mark,

I had the same problem: firefox didn't work, uninstalled firefox, reinstalled firefox, restarted netbook, empty desktop with searchbar. I can run terminal by finding it with the searchbar.

Luckily I found your post above (thanks!) and I checked your suggestion and indeed for me too,

Quote
It looks like what was removed when he uninstalled firefox was -

Jul 15 18:41:12 Erased: ame
Jul 15 18:41:13 Erased: smanager
Jul 15 18:41:15 Erased: Thunar
Jul 15 18:41:22 Erased: yelp
Jul 15 18:41:23 Erased: thunar-volman
Jul 15 18:41:24 Erased: firefox
Jul 15 18:41:26 Erased: xfdesktop
Jul 15 18:41:27 Erased: xfdesktop-acer

When I did this:

Quote
So this command should reinstall them:
Code: [Select]
sudo yum install firefox xfdesktop xfdesktop-acer ame smanager Thunar yelp thunar-volman
Code: [Select]

it installed some of them, but for ame, smanager, xfdesktop-acer, it told me "no package available" and therefore did not install them. (It did find and install xfdesktop, but not xfdesktop-acer.)

I restarted, and the desktop is still empty.

Any idea what I can do?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 01:24:07 pm by oddu »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #23 on: May 13, 2011, 01:58:06 pm »
Thanks for the feedback... This issue is a bit frustrating, as I don't own an AA1, and Linpus Lite refuses to run in a virtual machine... so I'm relying on feedback from others whilst we try to find a solution.

Try:
Code: [Select]
sudo yum install xfdesktop-acer-lp

can you let us know if that works, there are a number of people with the same issue, and I'm *trying* to find a solution without owning an AA1 myself.

[EDIT]

After doing a bit more reading, I seriously doubt if the above command will work... It looks like the AA1 contains a lot of modified packages that aren't in the repositories (acer don't maintain their own repo), so it looks like they will have to be installed from source... the problem *seems* to be that -

xfdesktop-4.4.2-1lp.src.rpm

as found here
Code: [Select]
ftp://ftp.twaren.net/Linux/Linpus/Aspire_One_Linpus_Linux/Aspire_One_Srpms/

is heavily modified (patched) for the AA1... so it may be a good idea NOT to install the xfdesktop package until I can find out where yum is getting it from.
(don't panic, we should be able to install the proper one... if indeed it installed the wrong one)

another problem seems to be that -

xfdesktop-acer-lp-1526.no_spot.mcs_patched.src.rpm

though labelled as a src (source) rpm, doesn't appear to contain any source code, and seems to contain pre-compiled binaries etc.

So I need to do some more homework on this before telling people to start installing the rpms from the above link.

Damn, this would be so much easier if I had an AA1, or could find a way of getting Linpus Lite to run in a VM  :o



Can someone run:
Code: [Select]
yum repolist all

and post the output, so I can find where yum is getting its packages from... I can then compare them with the acer/linpus modified packages.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 04:00:38 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline oddu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2011, 04:26:52 pm »
Hi Mark,

sudo yum install xfdesktop-acer-lp

indeed didn't work (unfortunately).

I tried

yum repolist all

gives
repo id   repo name   status
development   Fedora - Development  disabled
...
fedora   Fedora 8 - i386   enabled
...


I don't have a browser anymore on acer aspire one so I can't post the whole thing. but Fedora and Fedora 8 are the main repo names.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2011, 04:32:00 pm »
Thanks for that... does it give the URL of the repos ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline oddu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2011, 05:17:40 pm »
No, sorry, it doesn't give a url.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2011, 05:30:10 pm »
I don't know if you want to try this... but remember, I have now way of testing this, so it has to be a "try at your own risk" kind of thing.

Download these 2 files

ftp://ftp.twaren.net/Linux/Linpus/Aspire_One_Linpus_Linux/Aspire_One_Srpms/xfdesktop-4.4.2-1lp.src.rpm
and
ftp://ftp.twaren.net/Linux/Linpus/Aspire_One_Linpus_Linux/Aspire_One_Srpms/xfdesktop-acer-lp-1526.no_spot.mcs_patched.src.rpm

copy them to the /home/user folder on the AA1

then run:
Code: [Select]
cd ~
sudo rpm -i xfdesktop-4.4.2-1lp.src.rpm
sudo rpm -i xfdesktop-acer-lp-1526.no_spot.mcs_patched.src.rpm

and letting me know what happens.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline oddu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2011, 05:43:37 pm »
I'd love to try, but I don't see a way of copying files onto my AA1, because the filemanager doesn't exist any more and I can't copy them from the search bar... :-\
(+I don't have an internet browser on AA1 so I can't download them directly onto AA1)
« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 05:45:13 pm by oddu »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #29 on: May 13, 2011, 06:17:40 pm »
2 options

1) copy them to a USB stick...

On another PC, Label the USB stick somthing you will remember, such as AA1-Fix, or make a note of its current label.

plug it into the AA1, and run
Code: [Select]
mount

Look for a line that starts with something similar to this
/dev/sdd1 on /media/AA1-Fix type vfat (rw,nosuid........

We're interested it the /media/AA1-Fix part, as this tells you where the USB stick is mounted.

Now you know that (using the above as an example), you would do:
Code: [Select]
cp /media/AA1-Fix/xfdesktop-4.4.2-1lp.src.rpm /home/user
and
Code: [Select]
cp /media/AA1-Fix/xfdesktop-acer-lp-1526.no_spot.mcs_patched.src.rpm /home/user

They should now be in your /user/home folder... you can check this with:
Code: [Select]
ls -a /home/user
that will list everything in the /home/user folder, so check if they are there.



2) Use a LiveUSB to copy them across.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal