Author Topic: Firefox 4 installation problem on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite  (Read 23285 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Please help! 

I ran into the problem of firefox not working when it updated to firefox 4.  Being overconfident, I removed firefox and reinstalled the old firefox 2 from the add/remove software panel.  Then used firefox 2 to download the firefox 4 archive and unpacked it to  a temporary directory, so I could see what the problem was.  Seeing it was lack of a GLIBCXX file, I found the relevant rpm (using firefox 2) and installed it.  Firefox 4 then worked, so I planned to replace firefox 2 with it. 

I noticed the desktop was not responding as usual, so restarted.  Blank desktop with only the search bar and bottom bar visible (but these work).  Using the search bar opens firefox 2 or a desktop search- but can't open folders from that search as nautilus isn't running.  Rebooting, ctrl-c at startup to get a command prompt, unmounting filesystem and running fsck returns no errors. 

I'd rather recover the desktop as it was than install another distribution if possible- not least because a linux mint live usb didn't work with the wireless card and I'm not sure if the relevant drivers are available. 

So, any suggestions as to how I can get my desktop back? 

Thanks very much.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2011, 12:10:26 am by LauraRhian »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
IMPORTANT note for future readers - DO NOT uninstall Firefox 2 (uninstalling FF2 will kill your system)... if you haven't already uninstalled Firefox 2, and have just updated to Firefox 4 and found that it no longer starts... see here:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/netbooks/install-firefox-4-on-an-acer-aspire-one-running-linpus-lite-linux/

If you HAVE uninstalled Firefox 2, and found that you now have a blank desktop with just the search bar... I'm afraid it's too late, and you are going to have to reinstall your whole OS from the recovery DVD... so read on.

Links to Recovery DVD images are further down this topic



[EDIT]
Are you running Linpus Lite ? .. as you mention nautilus, and Linpus Lite doesn't use nautilus as its file manager, it uses thunar.
[END EDIT]

Seeing it was lack of a GLIBCXX file, I found the relevant rpm (using firefox 2) and installed it.


How did you install this .rpm ?
What was the .rpm called ?
and where did you get it ?

If you installed it system-wide rather than following the above instructions, it will probably have overwritten the libstdc++6 (as used in Linpus Lite) with a later version.

Try reinstalling the original version... if that brings your system back... just extract the files contained in the .rpm into the firefox 4 directory, rather than installing them system-wide.
(you *may* need to do this manually from a LiveUSB if you have no access to the package manager or command line)

[EDIT 2]

Future readers finding this topic, may also want to read this topic:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/general-discussion/uninstalled-firefox/
and
http://linuxforums.org.uk/general-help-advice/blank-screen/
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 07:05:09 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Thanks for the reply :)

It's definitely linpus lite, the error message however does refer to nautilus, not thunar. 

I got the .rpm from rpmfind and installed it system wide using the standard installer that opens when a .rpm is downloaded.  So you're probably right about the cause of the problem. 

Do you have a link for the correct version so I can be sure I'm using the right one for the fix? 

Thanks very much. 

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
First of all, is it THIS Linpus Lite ?


If so...

As Linpus Lite is based on Fedora core 8, I'm guessing you require the libstdc++-4.1.2-33.i386.rpm  from here:
http://archives.fedoraproject.org/pub/archive/fedora/linux/releases/8/Fedora/i386/os/Packages/

BTW, it appears it IS libstdc++6 (libstdc++.so.6.0.8 as opposed to libstdc++.so.6.0.10 as required by Firefox 4 ), not libstdc++5 .. but it's an earlier versionm than the one required for Firefox 4.

The 2 files contained in the .rpm need to go in the /usr/lib directory... it would be a VERY good idea to back up the ones already there before overwriting.
(ie. backup libstdc++.so.6.0.10, libstdc++.so.6, and if it exists also backup libstdc++.so.6.0.8 and any other libstdc++.* files contained in the /usr/lib directory)

And be SURE to copy BOTH files to /usr/lib as the libstdc++.so.6 file is a symbolic link that points to the other file... so only copying the libstdc++.so.6.0.8 file won't work.



BTW, the wireless drivers in Linux Mint/Ubuntu should be easy to fix (they are available)... just in case you fancy a change ;)
« Last Edit: May 09, 2011, 02:41:06 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
It is (or at least was!) like the picture shown.  :(

I have replaced the libstdc++.so.6 and libstdc++.so.6.0.10 files with those from the rpm (libstdc++.so.6 and libstdc++.so.6.0.8 ) but sadly no change.  I still have the black desktop with only the search bar and lower bar visible.  Firefox 2 still runs when the search bar is used.  The /usr/lib/ directory also contains libstdc++.so.5 (symbolic link) and libstdc++.so.5.0.7

I'd like to fix the linpus install if at all possible, but if not there's a mint usb stick standing by- which currently works with ethernet but not wifi.  I'm a little wary as I've had problems with ubuntu and mint and wifi drivers on other laptops- some work great, some are not reliable. 

Thanks :)
« Last Edit: May 09, 2011, 01:17:56 pm by LauraRhian »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
I don't actually own an AA1... normally I'd fire up the OS in a VM, reproduce the issue, then sort out a fix, but the recovery DVD appears to contain a disk image rather than an installer, so I can't load it into a virtual machine.

So the only thing I can suggest is to reinstall Linpus Lite from the Recovery DVD... if you don't have one, an ISO image can be downloaded from here:
https://xroot.org/journal/index.cgi/gnu-linux/acer-one-recovery.html

The above link is to the lastest version 1.0.21E, as listed here:
http://linpuscdn.040services.net/cdn/ACER/AspireOne/

And instructions for its use here:

]How to recover an Acer Aspire One

BE AWARE - This will erase the drive completely, putting it back to factory default... so back up anything you will need BEFORE following the above instructions.



Download the older 1.0.15E version (which I *think* was the original as installed on the ZG5) as a torrent:
http://fenopy.com/torrent/acer_aspire_one_recovery_image/MTM4MjkwNA==/download.torrent

Then follow the instructions here:
http://dailycupoftech.com/2008/09/02/diy-acer-aspire-one-recovery-usb-device/



Test downloads of those -

1.0.21E from top link - 23 minutes

1.0.15E from torrent link - 82 minutes

So they are quite quick
« Last Edit: October 29, 2011, 01:15:28 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
As another matter of interest... what files that start with libstdc++ are contained in your /usr/lib directory ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
libstdc++.so.5, symbolic link to:
libstdc++.so.5.0.7
libstdc++.so.6, symbolic link to:
libstdc++.so.6.0.8

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Was libstdc++.so.6.0.8 there before you overwrote it with the file I told you to download, or was there ONLY libstdc++.so.6.0.10 ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
No, there was only libstdc++.so.6.0.10 and the link to it

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with Firefox 4 installation on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2011, 05:04:49 pm »
I'm wondering if libstdc++6 is supposed to be installed AT ALL, as it seems a bit weird that version 5 is there as well.

How do you fell about moving the libstdc++.so.6 symbolic link... MOVE it, don't delete it, just in case it needs replacing.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with Firefox 4 installation on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2011, 05:14:53 pm »
Battery and wifi icons no longer appear and firefox 2 no longer starts from search bar.   Other than that, black screen with search bar and bottom bar visible as before. 

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with Firefox 4 installation on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2011, 05:15:38 pm »
OK, put it back :(
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline LauraRhian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with Firefox 4 installation on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2011, 05:19:22 pm »
Back to the black desktop with wifi and battery icons, firefox 2 working from search bar.  As before. 

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Problem with Firefox 4 installation on Acer Aspire One - Linpus Lite
« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2011, 07:07:20 pm »
IGNORE THIS POST FOR A MINUTE... READ THE NEXT RESPONSE FIRST
http://linuxforums.org.uk/netbooks/messed-up-firefox-4-installation-on-an-acer-aspire-one/msg47881/#msg47881



OK, I just unpacked the Linpus Lite 1.0.21.E image and it definitely uses libstdc++6.0.8 so it's highly likely you are using the correct version now.

[EDIT]

When you originally removed firefox... how did you do it ?
(if you did it from Add/Remove software, it will have been FF2 that got uninstalled)

It seems that you are NOT supposed to remove Firefox 2 from a Linpus Lite system as it is interwoven with the desktop... doing so also removes a lot of other things including most of the xfce4 desktop.
(reinstalling it does NOT replace these packages)

You are ONLY supposed to remove it with the --nodeps option so it doesn't remove the dependencies...
ie. rpm -e --nodeps firefox

Is there a log file somewhere in Linpus that will tell you what was removed with Firefox ?

If not... you could try reinstalling xfdesktop and xfdesktop-acer ..  they *should* be safe, as you are only installing/reinstalling packages from the official repo's, but you attempt them at your own risk.

Code: [Select]
sudo yum install xfdesktop
and
Code: [Select]
sudo yum install xfdesktop-acer



I'm putting these links here for future reference... they are the Linpus lite src.rpm repo's

http://ftp.twaren.net/Linux/Linpus/Aspire_One_Linpus_Linux/Aspire_One_Srpms/
or
ftp://ftp.twaren.net/Linux/Linpus/Aspire_One_Linpus_Linux/Aspire_One_Srpms/
and
http://www.nux.at/ftp.twaren.net/Linux/Linpus/Aspire_One_Linpus_Linux/Aspire_One_Srpms/



You may also want to reinstall pretty much everything else that starts with xf from those lists -

sudo yum install xfce-desktop-profile
sudo yum install xfce-mcs-manager
sudo yum install xfce-mcs-plugins
sudo yum install xfce-utils
sudo yum install xfce4-acs-plugin
sudo yum install xfce4-dev-tools
sudo yum install xfce4-go-home-plugin
sudo yum install xfce4-icon-theme
sudo yum install xfce4-mixer
sudo yum install xfce4-panel
sudo yum install xfce4-session
sudo yum install xfce4-volstatus-icon
sudo yum install xfce4-xkb-plugin
sudo yum install xfwm4

Once you're done installing things... run:
Code: [Select]
sudo yum update
to make sure everything is the latest version.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 03:17:23 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal