Author Topic: Glitch with Xorg?  (Read 3093 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Glitch with Xorg?
« on: October 04, 2011, 07:11:09 am »
I took this screenshot literally a couple of minutes ago, because I was going to show off my latest capture XD However, if you notice, there is a nice big duplicated part of the screen to the right. Is this an Xorg server issue? I've tried taking programs with, "Take Screenshot" and "Shutter" both which give the same result. Any guesses on how to fix this? Could it be a problem with Docky?

If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2011, 07:30:02 am »
Have you tried closing Docky before taking the screenshot ?

Code: [Select]
sudo killall docky

You can always restart it with Ctrl+Alt+T to open a terminal, then
Code: [Select]
screen docky

The "screen" part will allow you to close the terminal without closing docky.

Which desktop are you using .. Unity or GNOME ?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 07:41:16 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2011, 07:59:17 am »
I'm running Unity, you wouldn't be able to tell because the autohide feature for windows next to the launcher is active, due to me using Conky. The whole point of the screenshot I was gonna take was too include Docky & the desktops :P to show off... hehe.
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2011, 11:48:40 am »
I'd still like you to try it without docky running... at least I'll know if the issue is *caused* by docky, and where to start looking.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2011, 04:54:08 pm »
I'd still like you to try it without docky running... at least I'll know if the issue is *caused* by docky, and where to start looking.

I'll get a screenshot in a minute or two, need to go do something first.
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2011, 06:03:06 pm »
Doesn't seem to be Docky causing the problem... I'm pretty sure this is an Xorg glitch.

If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2011, 08:25:47 pm »
I take it you have dual monitors ?

What are the monitors resolutions/refresh rates set to ?

Which graphics card do you have ?

Which drivers are you running ?

What's the contents of your xorg.conf ?

have you tried playing with resolutions, refresh rates, and/or different drivers ?

Have you tried renaming ~/.config/monitors.xml and setting up your monitors again in the monitors preferences ?

I think you're likely to need to play with these thing mainly on your own, as there is no way for me to duplicate this issue... but I'll look around the web and see if I can find anything similar... but I'll need the above info ;)
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 08:28:53 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2011, 08:51:47 pm »
I take it you have dual monitors ?

Yes I do.

What are the monitors resolutions/refresh rates set to ?

Monitor 1 is 1360x768 & Monitor 2 is 1360x768 both running at 60Hz
Monitor 1 is a SSD HD TV.
Monitor 2 is an Acer P193w LCD monitor.

Which graphics card do you have ?

nVidia GeForce 9500M GS

Which drivers are you running ?

nVidia Proprietary drivers version 173.
 
There doesn't seem to be one present in the "X11" folder.

See attachment. (Gimme 5 mins)

have you tried playing with resolutions, refresh rates, and/or different drivers ?

Yeah I have... doesn't seem to do anything. Haven't tried any other drivers though.
 
Have you tried renaming ~/.config/monitors.xml and setting up your monitors again in the monitors preferences ?

Nope I haven't.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2011, 09:03:39 pm by BkS »
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2011, 09:18:29 pm »
Don't worry, seemed to have sorted it for the time being. I just restarted X server.

If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18231
  • Karma: 476
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2011, 09:38:19 pm »
Weird... but hey, whatever works ;)

Do you still have no /etc/X11/xorg.conf ? .. I thought the nvidia drivers created one.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • BkS Media
    • Awards
Re: Glitch with Xorg?
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2011, 09:49:09 pm »
Weird... but hey, whatever works ;)

Do you still have no /etc/X11/xorg.conf ? .. I thought the nvidia drivers created one.

Nope. I suddenly seem to have one again.. take a look. (Attachments)
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal