Author Topic: Finally got around to networking the house  (Read 45303 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #45 on: November 15, 2011, 09:07:05 pm »
In a terminal enter:
Code: [Select]
nautilus /media/Win-Video

does a window open showing the contents of the Windows Video drive ?
« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 09:10:55 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #46 on: November 15, 2011, 09:13:10 pm »
Yes, it opens showing files and a notification at the bottom pops up saying read only

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #46 on: November 15, 2011, 09:13:10 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #47 on: November 15, 2011, 09:19:37 pm »
Hmm .. I wonder if this is a "permissions" issue .. I've never trued sharing files via ushare that were outside my Home directory.

I'll test it later, and get back to you.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #48 on: November 15, 2011, 09:23:25 pm »
No probs.
In the mean time could you recommend a good read so I can understand the system and the commands a bit better

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #49 on: November 15, 2011, 09:30:52 pm »
See if there's anything here that takes your fancy:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/index.php?topic=232.0

There's also the Getting Started with Ubuntu 10.10.pdf here:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11876059/Getting%20Started%20with%20Ubuntu%2010.10.pdf
bit outdated as far as the user interface, but the command line stuff will still translate.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #49 on: November 15, 2011, 09:30:52 pm »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #50 on: November 15, 2011, 09:55:43 pm »
Thanks for them, got lots of reading to do now.
 8)

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline galaxytdm

  • Ubuntu 11.04
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Something Something dark side
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #51 on: November 15, 2011, 11:11:09 pm »
Are you connected via ethernet or wirelessly with the computer you are trying to configure?
If you need help ask a professional, then act upon their advice.
Anything less and you're just wasting peoples time.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #52 on: November 16, 2011, 10:46:13 am »
Are you connected via ethernet or wirelessly with the computer you are trying to configure?

Wired to Virgin router, the new type (I'm on 30) then it's wireless to the XboX in the front room and wired to the one in our bedroom.

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #53 on: November 16, 2011, 01:19:39 pm »
Quick question .. does the Xbox list the Ushare server at all "Ubuntu_PC_Shares" ?

Reason I ask is because BkS has had all sorts of difficulties with local networking with one of the latest virgin boxes.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #53 on: November 16, 2011, 01:19:39 pm »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #54 on: November 16, 2011, 02:13:20 pm »
It doesn't show any, 'No computers found'

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #55 on: November 16, 2011, 04:02:49 pm »
Post the contents of your /etc/ushare.conf file again (as it is now):
Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/ushare.conf

[EDIT]

You *are* just selecting VIDEOS on the Xbox, and NOT that Media centre thingy ?
« Last Edit: November 16, 2011, 04:17:05 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #56 on: November 16, 2011, 04:48:48 pm »
ushare.conf ;
(click to show/hide)
If I'm thinking you mean the 'Media Centre' that didn't work for my XboX as it wasn't the Media Centre version and is not Vista or 7 (they ommitted it from the XP version I used for some reason.
Or you mean XBMC or that other one I mentioned when I first posted m message, no as I have removed XBMC as I think it's crap and the other one, I've not got.


Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #57 on: November 16, 2011, 05:45:14 pm »
Try changing the:
USHARE_NAME=Ubuntu PC Shares
line to:
USHARE_NAME=ubuntu
or
USHARE_NAME=Ubuntu_PC_Shares

Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/ushare.conf

SAVE the file .. Then reboot the PC and the Xbox

As I'm not sure if spaces are allowed.

What I meant was on the Xbox360, select My Xbox > Video Library .. is the PC listed down the left hand side ?

and NOT, My Xbox > Windows Media Center
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #58 on: November 17, 2011, 02:39:25 am »
Nope, it's not listed.
I'm just going to retry, will post results in a few.....

[EDIT]
Neither worked
How do you know what port the XboX is on?
I've just tried it on the other XboX in the bedroom (wired) and it cant find anything either.

[EDIT]
I found this http://nexus172.wordpress.com/2009/04/26/how-to-stream-video-to-your-xbox360-using-ubuntu-ushare/

Scroll down to see
Then I start uShare when I need it with:

    ushare -x  (-x is for xbox compatible mode)


It works now, do/can I put that command in the ushare.conf file for it to run every time on a boot up?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 03:25:31 am by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #59 on: November 17, 2011, 06:03:45 am »
Well I'm surprised that worked, as this line:

USHARE_ENABLE_ XBOX=yes

is supposed to be putting it in xbox compatibility mode anyway ???

Anywho .. there's nothing stopping you adding that command in "Startup Applications"
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal