Author Topic: Finally got around to networking the house  (Read 46299 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #60 on: November 17, 2011, 01:51:31 pm »
How do I do that?
You have probably mentioned how to do it or similar before but I am swamped with all the new commands as I am new to it all, being an ex Windows user, it was basically all done for us by the PC.

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #61 on: November 17, 2011, 02:09:51 pm »
Search via Application Lens (if your in Unity) - Startup Applications

In Gnome-Shell you goto Applications > System > Startup Applications (I think)

then just click new on the right.

Name: Ushare
Command: ushare -x
Comment: whatever you please.
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #61 on: November 17, 2011, 02:09:51 pm »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #62 on: November 17, 2011, 02:22:40 pm »
I cant see anywhere to add stuff?

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #63 on: November 17, 2011, 03:58:00 pm »
I do apologize, it seems Gnome 3 does not have the Startup Applications shown as default, instead it is hidden away for some obscure reason.

So you have 2 options here.

a) We can install Alacarte to re-enable Startup Applications to be shown

or

b) We can set it to startup using Terminal commands.
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #64 on: November 17, 2011, 03:59:36 pm »
Scroll down, or enter Startup Applications into the search box (top right of your pic)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #64 on: November 17, 2011, 03:59:36 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #65 on: November 17, 2011, 04:01:32 pm »
@BkS .. are you sure .. it's there in mine .. and I don't remember adding it ???
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline BkS

  • BkS Media Founder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1691
  • Karma: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • sudo service reality-check start
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #66 on: November 17, 2011, 04:03:57 pm »
It could have been older versions of Gnome 3, but there were a few users reporting the Startup Applications not being shown. Ofcourse there is always a work around. They may have fixed it in Gnome 3.2, I'll have to look into it.

EDIT: I just started up my Oneiric VM, seems it's there in mine as well. They must've fixed it. I'm in fallback mode for Gnome3 on Oneiric so it's in Applications > Other > Startup Applications.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 04:09:25 pm by BkS »
If you try to look through Windows, you can see what the person is doing.
If you try to look through a Penguin, it WILL bite you.

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #67 on: November 17, 2011, 04:13:11 pm »
I think you may have been reading that some of the ITEMS that used to be listed in startup applications .. Bluetooth for example .. are no longer shown .. but Startup Applications itself is still there ;)

See that list of tweaks I showed you:
http://www.webupd8.org/2011/10/things-to-tweak-after-installing-ubuntu.html

@pooky2483

If you're having problems finding it, what happens if you run:
Code: [Select]
gnome-session-properties
and hit enter

Does the Startup Applications Preferences window open ?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 06:45:33 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #68 on: November 17, 2011, 07:24:29 pm »
I said earlier it was sorted, well, theres one slight problem, it will only share ONE drive at a time;
it wont share /media/Win-Videos if the first one is /media/Win-Storage and vice-versa.

Also when I type gnome-session-properties
I get the programs that run at bootup and can add more if I wish but cant remember how to add them/dont know where the list of programs are kept!
« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 07:27:13 pm by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #68 on: November 17, 2011, 07:24:29 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #69 on: November 17, 2011, 08:05:34 pm »
I know you said it was sorted .. but didn't you want to run ushare -x at bootup ?

If so .. run:
Code: [Select]
gnome-session-properties

Click Add

Make the fields read:

Name: Ushare Startup
Command: ushare -x
Comment: Start the Ushare application in Xbox compatibilty mode

Click Add

Make sure the "Ushare Startup" item is ticked .. click Close

Now the ushare -x command will be run every time you boot up.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #70 on: November 17, 2011, 08:55:24 pm »
Thanks for that  :)

But will that sort out the fact that it only shares the first share (location) in the list?

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #71 on: November 17, 2011, 09:03:17 pm »
I doubt it .. have you mentioned that before ?

What's the contents of /etc/ushare.conf again ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #72 on: November 17, 2011, 09:33:07 pm »
# /etc/ushare.conf
# Edit this file with 'dpkg-reconfigure ushare'
# Configuration file for uShare

# uShare UPnP Friendly Name (default is 'uShare').
USHARE_NAME=Ubuntu

# Interface to listen to (default is eth0).
# Ex : USHARE_IFACE=eth1
USHARE_IFACE=eth0

# Port to listen to (default is random from IANA Dynamic Ports range)
# Ex : USHARE_PORT=49200
USHARE_PORT=49200

# Port to listen for Telnet connections
# Ex : USHARE_TELNET_PORT=1337
USHARE_TELNET_PORT=1337

# Directories to be shared (space or CSV list).
# Ex: USHARE_DIR=/dir1,/dir2
USHARE_DIR=/media/Win-Storage, /media/Win-Video

# Use to override what happens when iconv fails to parse a file name.
# The default uShare behaviour is to not add the entry in the media list
# This option overrides that behaviour and adds the non-iconv'ed string into
# the media list, with the assumption that the renderer will be able to
# handle it. Devices like Noxon 2 have no problem with strings being passed
# as is. (Umlauts for all!)
#
# Options are TRUE/YES/1 for override and anything else for default behaviour
USHARE_OVERRIDE_ICONV_ERR=

# Enable Web interface (yes/no)
USHARE_ENABLE_WEB=no

# Enable Telnet control interface (yes/no)
USHARE_ENABLE_TELNET=no

# Use XboX 360 compatibility mode (yes/no)
USHARE_ENABLE_XBOX=yes

# Use DLNA profile (yes/no)
# This is needed for PlayStation3 to work (among other devices)
USHARE_ENABLE_DLNA=no

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #73 on: November 17, 2011, 09:37:39 pm »
Close the gap in this line:
USHARE_DIR=/media/Win-Storage, /media/Win-Video
so it reads:
USHARE_DIR=/media/Win-Storage,/media/Win-Video

also check the directory exists .. and read my waring bout stuff not being displayed if it contains stuff it doesnt like.

So it may be best to create a folder on the Win-Video drive called something like Working

change that line to:
USHARE_DIR=/media/Win-Storage,/media/Win-Video/Working

Then copy your videos into it one at a time .. and test them on the Xbox.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #74 on: November 17, 2011, 09:42:48 pm »
When I opened a few folders before, I did notice some files with a 'No Entry' sign before the filename, so it does display all the files but some are un-playable.

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal