Author Topic: Finally got around to networking the house  (Read 46297 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #30 on: November 08, 2011, 05:52:41 pm »
Result of sudo blkid
(click to show/hide)

All of them to be mounted if poss.
No idea how to mount them as I am completley new to this OS as used Windows for years.


Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #31 on: November 08, 2011, 08:49:24 pm »
First, read this and understand it:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MountingWindowsPartitions

OK, create 3 mount points (directories) in /media

Code: [Select]
sudo mkdir /media/Win-Storage
then:
Code: [Select]
sudo mkdir /media/Win-MyDocs
then:
Code: [Select]
sudo mkdir /media/Win-Video

Now make a backup of your/etc/fstab file:
Code: [Select]
sudo cp -v /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.original
the expected output from that commnd is:
Quote
`/etc/fstab' -> `/etc/fstab.original'
if it's ANYTHING else .. STOP NOW, and let me know.

Now open /etc/fstab for editing:
Code: [Select]
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

and add these 3 lines to the bottom:-

Code: [Select]
/dev/sdb1 /media/Win-Storage ntfs-3g defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /media/Win-MyDocs vfat defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
/dev/sdd1 /media/Win-Video ntfs-3g defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0

SAVE the file, but don't close it yet .. and DO NOT REBOOT.

Back in the terminal mount all the entries in /etc/fstab with:
Code: [Select]
sudo mount -a

Then test the mounts with:
Code: [Select]
nautilus /media/Win-Storage
and check if the Windows files are visible.
then:
Code: [Select]
nautilus /media/Win-MyDocs
and check if the Windows files are visible.
then:
Code: [Select]
nautilus /media/Win-Video
and check if the Windows files are visible.

If ALL 3 directories show the windows files, you are done settting up the mounts.

If NOT .. go back to the /etc/fstab file, and "comment out" those 3 lines .. so they look like this:-

Code: [Select]
# /dev/sdb1 /media/Win-Storage ntfs-3g defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
# /dev/sdc1 /media/Win-MyDocs vfat defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
# /dev/sdd1 /media/Win-Video ntfs-3g defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0

SAVE the file, and let me know which directories worked, and which didn't.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2011, 08:53:41 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #31 on: November 08, 2011, 08:49:24 pm »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #32 on: November 09, 2011, 09:20:44 am »

Back in the terminal mount all the entries in /etc/fstab with:
Code: [Select]
sudo mount -a

Thats as far as I got, had to open another terminal window as the first one was held up by gedit.
when I typed 'sudo mount -a' it said;
[email protected]:~$ sudo mount -a
[sudo] password for peter:
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdc1,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

[email protected]:~$

also, MyDocs is saying it's NTFS not FAT
[email protected]:~$ sudo blkid
[sudo] password for peter:
/dev/sda1: UUID="959cb526-06f8-4d5d-bec2-a6b42f438b07" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda5: UUID="e56dad6b-358f-4948-b51f-4abce81f50b1" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="Storage" UUID="01CB4AA7A24CB100" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdd1: LABEL="Video" UUID="E6A88BB6A88B83B1" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="My Documents" UUID="D0BCE8B4BCE8966E" TYPE="ntfs"

Could that ne why the error above?

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #33 on: November 09, 2011, 11:44:02 am »
Yeh I had noticed that before, but fdisk had reported it as FAT, and I trusted fdisk more .. maybe a mistake :) .. anyway, as you suggest lets try mounting it as an NTFS volume then.

make those 3 lines read:-

Code: [Select]
/dev/sdb1 /media/Win-Storage ntfs-3g defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /media/Win-MyDocs ntfs-3g defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
/dev/sdd1 /media/Win-Video ntfs-3g defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0

and try again :)

Same rules apply .. test them afterwards and comment them out if they don't work.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2011, 02:29:06 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #34 on: November 09, 2011, 07:05:40 pm »
Done it and they all showed up ok.

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #34 on: November 09, 2011, 07:05:40 pm »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #35 on: November 10, 2011, 03:02:23 am »
I take it you've worked out the paths to put into the ushare.conf file ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #36 on: November 11, 2011, 02:07:35 pm »
I take it you've worked out the paths to put into the ushare.conf file ?
Not had chance to do anything yet, bit too busy - personal stuff.
What do I need to do next to sort it?

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #37 on: November 12, 2011, 07:25:25 pm »
Well the paths to those drives are:-

/media/Win-Storage
/media/Win-MyDocs
/media/Win-Video

So just enter those (or any subdirectories) in the ushare.conf file.

But read what I said about it not being happy with certain file types, and how it can stop them ALL being displayed.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #38 on: November 15, 2011, 10:58:27 am »
I tried;
[email protected]:~$ dpkg-reconfigure ushare
/usr/sbin/dpkg-reconfigure must be run as root

What do I do?

I also saw you asking the OP a command;
[email protected]:~$ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:8c:bc:10:83 
          inet addr:192.168.0.2  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::224:8cff:febc:1083/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:83160 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:50987 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:119980491 (119.9 MB)  TX bytes:4263978 (4.2 MB)
          Interrupt:42 Base address:0xe000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2656 (2.6 KB)  TX bytes:2656 (2.6 KB)

I have no idea what to do to the config file, the ports n that.
Also, my Xbox is connected wireless.

« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 10:59:58 am by pooky2483 »

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #38 on: November 15, 2011, 10:58:27 am »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #39 on: November 15, 2011, 11:29:18 am »
If a command ever tells you it needs to be run as root .. prefix the command with sudo and a space.

So:
Code: [Select]
dpkg-reconfigure ushare
becomes
Code: [Select]
sudo dpkg-reconfigure ushare

Though it may be easier just to edit the /etc/ushare.conf file manually .. whice directories are you trying to share with the Xbox, and what is the contents of your /etc/ushare.cong file:
Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/ushare.conf


It doesn't really matter how the Xbox connects to your router, and ifconfig has just told us your PC is using eth0 as its interface, so the INTERFACE line needs to read:
USHARE_IFACE=eth0
« Last Edit: November 15, 2011, 11:34:51 am by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #40 on: November 15, 2011, 06:34:22 pm »
# /etc/ushare.conf
# Edit this file with 'dpkg-reconfigure ushare'
# Configuration file for uShare

# uShare UPnP Friendly Name (default is 'uShare').
USHARE_NAME=Ubuntu PC Shares

# Interface to listen to (default is eth0).
# Ex : USHARE_IFACE=eth1
USHARE_IFACE=eth0

# Port to listen to (default is random from IANA Dynamic Ports range)
# Ex : USHARE_PORT=49200
USHARE_PORT=

# Port to listen for Telnet connections
# Ex : USHARE_TELNET_PORT=1337
USHARE_TELNET_PORT=

# Directories to be shared (space or CSV list).
# Ex: USHARE_DIR=/dir1,/dir2
USHARE_DIR=/media/Storage

# Use to override what happens when iconv fails to parse a file name.
# The default uShare behaviour is to not add the entry in the media list
# This option overrides that behaviour and adds the non-iconv'ed string into
# the media list, with the assumption that the renderer will be able to
# handle it. Devices like Noxon 2 have no problem with strings being passed
# as is. (Umlauts for all!)
#
# Options are TRUE/YES/1 for override and anything else for default behaviour
USHARE_OVERRIDE_ICONV_ERR=

# Enable Web interface (yes/no)
USHARE_ENABLE_WEB=

# Enable Telnet control interface (yes/no)
USHARE_ENABLE_TELNET=

# Use XboX 360 compatibility mode (yes/no)
USHARE_ENABLE_XBOX=

# Use DLNA profile (yes/no)
# This is needed for PlayStation3 to work (among other devices)
USHARE_ENABLE_DLNA=

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #41 on: November 15, 2011, 08:06:13 pm »
As you haven't told me which directories you wish to share .. I'm going to assume you want to share 2 of the Windows drives that we just mounted .. ie. /media/Win-Storage and /media/Win-Video

Open /etc/ushare.conf for editing:
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/ushare.conf

Now make it read -

(click to show/hide)

SAVE the file and exit gedit.

In a terminal enter:
Code: [Select]
sudo service ushare restart

Now fire up your Xbox, and see if anything is listed under Videos
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #42 on: November 15, 2011, 08:40:10 pm »
I did it but got this;
[email protected]:~$ sudo service ushare restart
 * Stopping uShare UPnP A/V & DLNA Media Server: ushare                  [ OK ]
 * Starting uShare UPnP A/V & DLNA Media Server: ushare                         /etc/ushare.conf: 6: PC: not found
 * No shares avalaible ...
                                                                         [ OK ]


Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #43 on: November 15, 2011, 08:46:12 pm »
have you checked on the Xbox ?

if nothing is avai;able .. reboot, then turn off the Xbox, and turn it back on .. and check again.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #44 on: November 15, 2011, 09:03:26 pm »
Nope... Still nothing visible

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal