Author Topic: Finally got around to networking the house  (Read 44969 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #150 on: August 03, 2012, 05:57:16 pm »
I just installed Ubuntu 12.04 and need to sort out sharing again, I tried following the previous instructions but got lost in it all.
I need to install ushare and mount my Hard Drives again.

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #151 on: August 04, 2012, 08:28:55 pm »
OK, can you send the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
and preferably say what you want mounting, and where .. same as last time ?

Are you sure you want to use Ushare ? .. personally I think MiniDLNA is a better option, but if you'd prefer Ushare......
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #151 on: August 04, 2012, 08:28:55 pm »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #152 on: August 05, 2012, 12:53:33 am »
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l

(click to show/hide)

I want them all mounting and called Drive2/3/4 respectively.
How good is MiniDLNA, how easy is it to set up and use?
What's the better more user friendly and stable one of the two?


Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #153 on: August 05, 2012, 02:28:40 am »
OK, first things first .. I can see a futer problem arising if/when you move the system stuff off the 500GB (Ubuntu 11.10) drive.

The reason .. currently (I think) you have the bootloader spread across 2 hard drives (stage 1 on the 500GB, and stage 2 on the 250GB)

Can you let me know EXACTLY how you boot to 12.04 ?

Do you have to change the boot order in the BIOS, or select the 250GB drive at the boot device selection screen ?
or
Do you just boot normally, and GRUB offers you both 11.10 and 12.04 ?

and have you still got a 12.04 LiveCD ?



DON'T DO THIS YET, but I'm thinking it would be a good idea to swap the cables of the 500GB and 250GB drives, so the 250GB drive is the primary boot device, and if necessary fix the bootloader .. otherwise you are NOT (in the future) going to be able to remove the /boot directory from the 500GB drive.

Just answer the questions above, and we'll go from there.

Ushare vs MiniDLNA .. I prefer minidlna, it seems more stable, and more compatible .. the only problem I can foresee is you saying something like "that file used to play with ushare" ignoring the faact that some that didn't play in ushare now do.

If you're asking my opinion .. I'd say mindlna is better .. but now I've said that, I just KNOW you'll disagree the second we install it, which is why I'm asking YOU.

Once configured neither need user intervention .. so I don't understand the "which is more user friendly" question ???
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #154 on: August 05, 2012, 11:36:07 am »
OK, first things first .. I can see a futer problem arising if/when you move the system stuff off the 500GB (Ubuntu 11.10) drive.

The reason .. currently (I think) you have the bootloader spread across 2 hard drives (stage 1 on the 500GB, and stage 2 on the 250GB)

Can you let me know EXACTLY how you boot to 12.04 ?

Do you have to change the boot order in the BIOS, or select the 250GB drive at the boot device selection screen ?
or
Do you just boot normally, and GRUB offers you both 11.10 and 12.04 ?

and have you still got a 12.04 LiveCD ?



DON'T DO THIS YET, but I'm thinking it would be a good idea to swap the cables of the 500GB and 250GB drives, so the 250GB drive is the primary boot device, and if necessary fix the bootloader .. otherwise you are NOT (in the future) going to be able to remove the /boot directory from the 500GB drive.

Just answer the questions above, and we'll go from there.

Ushare vs MiniDLNA .. I prefer minidlna, it seems more stable, and more compatible .. the only problem I can foresee is you saying something like "that file used to play with ushare" ignoring the faact that some that didn't play in ushare now do.

If you're asking my opinion .. I'd say mindlna is better .. but now I've said that, I just KNOW you'll disagree the second we install it, which is why I'm asking YOU.

Once configured neither need user intervention .. so I don't understand the "which is more user friendly" question ???

As I explained in an earlier post, like you can select whether to boot from CD Drive or HD, I can change the order in which the BIOS looks at the HD's to boot from.
So, I don't need to swap the SATA cables round, I literally do that in the BIOS.

Re the GRUB, it offers a choice of boot at the start;
Normal system
Normal system (Safe Mode)
Recovery Mode
other stuff
Boot from sda1 (the 500GBHD)
another option to boot from sda1

So, when the 12.04 drive boots, it can see there’s another bootable drive connected.

I probably meant which is easier to use in respect of beginner to pro using minidlna.

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #154 on: August 05, 2012, 11:36:07 am »

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #155 on: August 05, 2012, 01:06:31 pm »
You're not listening (or understanding) again ;)

I KNOW you can decide which drive to boot in your BIOS (but that's not what I'm asking) .. if you are not having to do that, the bootloader is probably spread across both hard drives (which you don't want if you're going to remove the "system stuff" from the 500GB drive).

if you're planning on clearing the "system stuff" from the 500GB drive .. the 250GB drive needs to be the primary boot device (dev/sda) AND contain both parts (stage 1 AND stage 2 of the GRUB bootloader) .. to achieve this, you'll want to swap the cables over, and possibly reinstall GRUB to the 250GB hard drive.

So I repeat ..

Are you having to select the 250GB drive as the boot device in the BIOS to boot 12.04 ?
or
are you just booting to the 500GB drive (normally) and being offered 12.04 by the GRUB menu ?

and
Do you still have a 12.04 LiveCD ?

It would be easy to check if the bootloader is spread across both drives .. disconnect the 500GB drive, and see if you can still boot 12.04



Quote
I probably meant which is easier to use in respect of beginner to pro using minidlna.

I'm still not understanding the question .. ONCE CONFIGURED they are both just as easy to "use", as neither of them require user intervention ??? .. all the user has to do is plonk files in the shared directories ???
« Last Edit: August 05, 2012, 01:17:06 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #156 on: August 05, 2012, 01:53:21 pm »
Are you having to select the 250GB drive as the boot device in the BIOS to boot 12.04 ?

Yes
Quote
or
are you just booting to the 500GB drive (normally) and being offered 12.04 by the GRUB menu ?

No
Quote
and
Do you still have a 12.04 LiveCD ?

Yes

Quote
It would be easy to check if the bootloader is spread across both drives .. disconnect the 500GB drive, and see if you can still boot 12.04

Give me a few mins to check.

Quote
I'm still not understanding the question .. ONCE CONFIGURED they are both just as easy to "use", as neither of them require user intervention ??? .. all the user has to do is plonk files in the shared directories ???

I'll stick with ushare.

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #157 on: August 05, 2012, 02:03:47 pm »
With the 500Gb drive with 11.10 not connected it wont boot.
What's the next step, put the 250Gb drive with 12.04 in place of the 500Gb 11.10 drive?

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #158 on: August 05, 2012, 03:54:45 pm »
Yes, swap the cables on the 250GB and 500GB drives, then boot to a 12.04 LiveCD/LiveUSB, open a terminal, and send the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

The Linux Community Forum

Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #158 on: August 05, 2012, 03:54:45 pm »

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #159 on: August 05, 2012, 08:00:03 pm »
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l

(click to show/hide)

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #160 on: August 05, 2012, 08:25:15 pm »
OK, REBOOT to the 12.04 LiveCD (IMPORTANT that you reboot, so no drives are mounted) .. run open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run these commands in sequence:

Code: [Select]
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
for i in /dev /dev/pts /proc /sys; do sudo mount -B $i /mnt$i; done
sudo chroot /mnt
grub-install /dev/sda
grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
update-grub

Exit chroot:- CTRL+D on keyboard

Then reboot (to the hard drive) with:
Code: [Select]
sudo reboot



Once booted, send the output from:
Code: [Select]
mount

and the contents of:
Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/fstab
« Last Edit: August 05, 2012, 08:43:18 pm by Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec) »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #161 on: August 05, 2012, 08:35:19 pm »
Sorry, I forgot to use liveCD12.04

Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l

(click to show/hide)

Does that change anything you asked me to enter?

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18277
  • Karma: 479
  • Gender: Male
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #162 on: August 05, 2012, 08:45:39 pm »
Nope .. I'm a bit surprised the 500GB drive is now /dev/sdc .. but that's unimportant.

Same instructions as my last posting :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'
logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
pcnetspec.co.uk

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #163 on: August 05, 2012, 08:51:34 pm »
OK, REBOOT to the 12.04 LiveCD (IMPORTANT that you reboot, so no drives are mounted) .. run open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run these commands in sequence:

Code: [Select]
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
for i in /dev /dev/pts /proc /sys; do sudo mount -B $i /mnt$i; done
sudo chroot /mnt
grub-install /dev/sda
grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
update-grub

[email protected]:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
[email protected]:~$ for i in /dev /dev/pts /proc /sys; do sudo mount -B $i /mnt$i; done
[email protected]:~$ sudo chroot /mnt
[email protected]:/# grub-install /dev/sda
Installation finished. No error reported.
[email protected]:/# grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
Installation finished. No error reported.
[email protected]:/# update-grub
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-27-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-27-generic
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-23-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-23-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Found Ubuntu 11.10 (11.10) on /dev/sdc1
done
[email protected]:/#

Done that so far, now doing the rest

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

Offline pooky2483

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Slowly getting the hang of it.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Finally got around to networking the house
« Reply #164 on: August 05, 2012, 08:58:01 pm »
OK, REBOOT to the 12.04 LiveCD (IMPORTANT that you reboot, so no drives are mounted) .. run open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run these commands in sequence:

Once booted, send the output from:
Code: [Select]
mount

[email protected]:~$ mount
/dev/sda1 on / type ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
none on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880)
none on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
gvfs-fuse-daemon on /home/pooky2483/.gvfs type fuse.gvfs-fuse-daemon (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=pooky2483)
/dev/sr0 on /media/Ubuntu 12.04 LTS amd64 type iso9660 (ro,nosuid,nodev,uid=1000,gid=1000,iocharset=utf8,mode=0400,dmode=0500,uhelper=udisks)
[email protected]:~$


Quote
and the contents of:
Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/fstab

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
# / was on /dev/sdb1 during installation
UUID=86fe3809-17a6-412c-be0a-250f6f29fa41 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=e56dad6b-358f-4948-b51f-4abce81f50b1 none            swap    sw              0       0
# swap was on /dev/sdb2 during installation
UUID=03b9f227-9f5c-4abc-a50b-74ecc1590f44 none            swap    sw              0       0
# Mounted Drives
#/dev/sda1 /media/Home ext4 defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
#/dev/sdc1 /media/Disk3 ext4 defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0
#/dev/sdd1 /media/Disk4 ext4 defaults,user,locale=en_GB.utf8 0 0

The 500Gb is 'c' because I moved the 250 into 'a', basically swapped them - as you asked

Kubuntu 18.04LTS 64bit|KDE 5.47.0|Plasma 5.12.19|QT 5.9.5|Linux 5.4.0.54-generic|M5A78L-M USB3|BIOS 2101|AMD PhenomII X4 965 3400+|P8H77-I Motherboard NIC|32.0GB PC3-10600 1333Mhz CL9 ( 9-9-9-24 ) DDR3

 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal