Author Topic: Firefox 8.0.1 and Flash compatability problems  (Read 4398 times)

Offline stvhp

• I've just joined!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Firefox 8.0.1 and Flash compatability problems
« on: December 13, 2011, 10:33:10 am »
Hi
I am running an Acer Aspire One with Linpus Lite v 13
Recently we were invited to upgrade our Firefox 7 to Firefox 8 ........ we did and unfortunately it did not go well !! :(
Initially when opening a page eg BBC News the main page would open but the exchange of information immediately after would be extremely slow .... up to 30 seconds, where any Firefox screen / activity would be locked
I am a beginner with Linux and after a while, with the help of many forums I was able to disable the Flash plug in (both v10 and v11).
Everything is now at a good speed but I cannot get any video content
I tried reloading the Adobe plugins etc but this did not improve matters ..... and I cannot seem to find the Firefox program to uninstall it and go back to v7

I would like to ask for a simple solution ...

1) Can I solve the Adobe Flash Plugin problem easily ??
or
2) Can I use another Plugin instead of Adobe Flash ??
or
3) Can I unistall Firefox 8 easily and reinstall v 7 ??

I will need simple step by step instructions if possible due to my inexperience   :P

Thank you in advance to anyone who can put be on a good path !!!

S

Offline Mark Greaves (PCNetSpec)

• "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
    • Awards
Re: Firefox 8.0.1 and Flash compatability problems
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2011, 01:29:58 pm »
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Which instructions did you follow to upgrade Firefox in the first place ? .. Macles ?

If you followed Macles or My instructions for upgrading Firefox, then Firefox 8 will be in the /opt/firefox directory .. you can test this by opening a terminal (with Firefox closed) and entering:
Code: [Select]
/opt/firefox/firefox