3G dongle on linux

I have a 3G dongle that comes with installation programmes for windows and Mac only.

I am aware (from browsing) that some people have got a 3G dongle working on linux but their explanations are beyond me as I’m a novice and they assume knowledge I haven’t got.

Having upgraded my AOA 110 to peppermint, I’m now wondering again if I can get the dongle working. It occurs to me that, from what (little) I’ve read, I could install wine and use it to install the dongle as a windows environment. Is this feasible or just a daft hope?

or should I go MiFi?

Can you tell us a little more about the 3G Dongle (Make, Model and Provider)?

With the Dongle plugged into a USB port
Open a terminal and type:

lsusb

and hit enter

And post back the results

Personally I would go for the MiFi, as that is what I use. The added benefit is that 4 more devices can be connected at the same time.

Yep, there’s a VERY good chance it’s supported in Linux … but DO NOT install the windows drivers/software in WINE.

Just plug the device in … open a terminal, and (as SeZo says) run:

lsusb

Then post back here what’s returned in the terminal.

If you already have a dongle, we can probably get it working … if on the other hand you haven’t got one and are wondering what to get … +1 for the MiFi :wink:

right! wilco both! (as I say - my notifications have stopped, sorry) will keep an eye on the forum now.

okay lsusb recognised 4 1.1 root hubs, one 2.0 root hub and webcam and the Huwai dongle

IT’s an E353 HSPA

The EXACT output from:

lsusb

would be handy … I just want to check the Vendor:Product ID’s are currently supported by usb-modeswitch before going through the setup :wink:

You can copy/paste directly from the terminal … either with your mouse/touchpad,

or with keyboard shortcuts …

Terminal -
Ctrl+Shift+C = Copy
Ctrl+Shift+V = Paste

In pretty much all other apps, just miss out the Shift key :wink:

phew, what a mission! still, here it is …