Adobe Flash Player ?

i’m new to ubuntu. and i know i seem quite annoying but i guess it’s like learning to walk all over again. lmao.

but could someone help me… i have no idea which version of flash player i need for ubuntu 10.04 :confused:

here the link…

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Don’t download it from Adobe… Always check to see if it’s available in you package manager first.

You need to install ubuntu-restricted-extras in your package manager (synaptic)

Installing this package will pull in support for MP3 playback and decoding,
support for various other audio formats (GStreamer plugins), Microsoft fonts,
Java runtime environment, Flash plugin, LAME (to create compressed audio
files), and DVD playback.

Please note that this does not install libdvdcss2, and will not let you play
encrypted (retail) DVD’s.

So you might want to install libdvdcss2 as well :slight_smile: (also in synaptic)

OR from a terminal:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras libdvdcss2

thanks for that :slight_smile:

You’re welcome :slight_smile:

was just on youtube about 5 mins ago. there seems to be some sort of lag been the video & audio :S
that never happened to me when i used windoze :frowning:

help :(?

i keep getting distorted noises. and is there a adobe flasher player plug-in for chrome on ubuntu?
ohhh :frowning:

In your browser, can you go to;

about:plugins

And tell is which version of Flash you’re running …

I experienced also with libdvdcss2 difficulties: k9copy is a good workaround.

Adobe Flash… the ONLY area I’ve had problems in Linux, that said I was using old hardware (an ATI 7000 IGP graphics chip) that was no longer supported, not so much a problem with Linux more a problem with ATI, and I’ve managed to vastly improve things.