Complete beginner - Laptop choice?

Hi all,

I would like to think I’m a fairly proficient computer user and want to start learning more about how they actually work rather than just using them, it seems to me that Linux would be a good start to this.

My own laptop died a year or so ago and I use my works machine for everything, for obvious reasons I don’t want to start practising on this!

Assuming I’m willing to spend £150-200 what would be a sensible choice of 2nd hand laptop to buy (seems to be more sensible to buy something used rather than the cheapest brand-new machine I can find).

As far as what I would want to do once I’ve got the hang of Linux I would a) like to set up some sort of home server for music/movies b) I received a drone for Christmas and there are lots of videos on Youtube where people have increased the range of their machines by “playing around” with the wifi settings etc, I imagine this would be something that would be achievable (and fun) using Linux.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

TIA

James

Hi easyhome, and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

It might be easier for you to look around at models you like, then post the make/model … then we’ll be able to check the hardware/spec and see if there’s anything that might give you problems.

Another option would be to check peoples opinions and info at:-
http://www.linlap.com/
and/or
http://www.ubuntu.com/certification/desktop/

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the fast reply :slight_smile:

I’ve been looking on Ebay and the linlap page you suggested and this

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Windows-7-Lenovo-IBM-X61-Laptop-Core-2-Duo-3-6GHz-2Gb-Ram-Warranty-Office-WiFi-/370798284647?pt=UK_Computing_Laptops_EH&hash=item56554ccf67#

seems to be pretty popular.

It has no disc drive but from what I’ve been reading it’s possible to install Linux from a USB key?

Cheers