Flashing cursor following Bodhi installation (Asus EEE PC netbook)

Help!

After downloading Bodhi to USB using Unetbootin, I managed to complete the Bodhi installation process on my Asus netbook. However after rebooting I am now greeting by a black screen with a flashing cursor in the top left corner. I am unable to reload Windows either so the netbook is currently unusable.

Please could someone help?

Hi

How did you configure Bodhi to install did you tell it install alongside Windows ?

Can you boot back into Bodhi using the USB and open a terminal and post the output of

fdisk -l

Graeme

Thanks for your reply Graeme. You are going to wish you never replied though, as I really am a complete novice, sorry! Yes I installed it alongside Windows. I have now tried to boot back into Bodhi using the USB (after selecting “nomodeset - boot Live in ATI safe graphics mode” but it stalls on a white screen after the bodhi splash screen.

Okay I’ve managed to get to the Bodhi installation page. Is this where I do Ctl Alt F1 to set up a new terminal?

"nomodeset - boot Live in ATI safe graphics mode

Is that the only options you have ?

if so try “boot Live in ATI safe graphics mode” and if you boot into a desktop open the terminal, (In Bodhi i think it’s called terminology but I’m not sure how to do that exactly in Bodhi it’s a while since I used it) but if you can’t find it in the menu try (Ctrl+Alt+t) then copy and paste

fdisk -l

at the command prompt then press enter , you should then be given an output, highlight that input, then right click and copy, then paste the contents here

If you have any problems doing that stop and report back here

Good luck

Graeme

Okay I've managed to get to the Bodhi installation page

I’m not sure what you mean by “Installation page”, have you booted into the Bodhi desktop ?