Help with latest version

I have just spent some time upgrading to 12.04 from 11.10 (though I now wish I hadn’t). I am still a novice really and all was going well, however after my normal login screen after restarting following the upgrade it all gone wrong! The screen is blank, not even a shut down button, I get the message that I am connected to my wireless router but there are no icons down the left of the screen or anything, I just don’t know what to do, any help would be greatly appreciated, and i don’t mind if you tell me I have to go back to square one as long as you tell me how to do it.
Sorry if this has rambled on a bit but I am totally confused.

Degsy :‘( :’( :cry:

Couple of things to try …

Hit Ctrl+Alt+T … does a terminal open ?

if so try:

unity --reset

if that doesn’t work, try these 3 commands:

mv ~/.compiz-1 ~/.compiz-1.backup

then

mv ~/.config/compiz-1 ~/config/.compiz-1.backup

then

sudo shutdown -r now

Tried the first option but no luck, shut down(using the on/off button) rebooted and this time got this
error: hd read error
grub rescue> -
help

Have you got a LiveCD, or LiveUSB ?

I have 11.04 on a CD, is that any good?

Probably … boot to the 11.04 LiveCD, open a terminal and run:

sudo fdisk -l

and post the output back here.

or if you’d prefer just to call it a day and reinstall from scratch … let me know … in which case you’ll be wanting a 12.04 LiveCD, have you got access to a PC to burn one ?

also let me know if there is anything on your PC you cannot afford to loose.

[EDIT]

BTW, never shut a PC down by holding the on/off button … that can screw up your file system.

the best way to reboot or shut down a Linux system if you have no other option is to hold AltGr+SysRq (some PC’s need Alt+SysRq) and whilst holding them type:

REISUB to reboot
or
REISUO to shut down

Best to leave a few seconds gap between R-E-I-S-U-B or R-E-I-S-U-O