hi im neil

hi im neil i live near derby in the uk.
now as this is my first time on here i have a question why wont ubuntu load it took 4 attempts to get on to go on the hard disk now it says grub rescue at the boot up. Now ive tried putting the live cd in again as many places say on the net, but mine doesnt understand “sudo” comand ,.or anything else for that matter.(.ive even got very annoyed and typed 4 letter words at it) i only thought id try linux im sending this on a vista laptop. everyone seems to hate vista but ive never had this much trouble with it. so your fighting linux v vista to!

Hi neil62, and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Sounds like (for some reason) there is a problem with the GRUB bootloader … it may need reinstalling.

Which version of Ubuntu ?

If you’re not sure, boot to the LiveCD that you used to install Ubuntu … select “Try Ubuntu” … once at a working desktop, hit Ctrl+Alt+T to open a terminal, then enter:

cat /etc/*-release

hit the Enter key … and post back the output.

whilst still in the terminal, enter:

sudo fdisk -l

and hit enter … and post the output from that too.

if the “sudo” command (or any other) doesn’t work from the LiveCD’s terminal … the LiveCD is corrupt.

Also be aware - Linux commands ARE case sensitive.

A friendly hint - I’ve found that people who tend to say things like, “help me or I’m going back to Windows”, tend to be told to go back to Windows :wink: … whereas just “please help me” will illicit a more friendly, helpful response.

I’m not saying that’s what you meant by:-

so your fighting linux v vista to!

But it came across (at least to me) that way … Linux users tend not to be interested in “fighting” Windows (no matter what you’ve seen), we prefer Linux, but others may prefer Windows, in which case they should stick with it. :slight_smile:

Ask for help with Linux and you’ll find the Linux community are a VERY helpful and friendly bunch. :slight_smile: