I can't find "add/remove software" (gnome)

Hello,

I just received my new computer with linux! I am a complete beginner… I understood my computer uses gnome and this is about it… I looked on Internet how to install softwares and it seems I don’t have the Add Remove software application (at least I cannot find it…) and I can’t find any program installer either… Could anyone help me?
Thank you
Agnes

For “add/remove” programs, you look for the software center.

Do you know what linux distro your using?

I am afraid I dont know what i am using, I have seen Linpus or something like this the first time I switched on…
I don’t have Software service, I have Gnome control center but I have been through its menu and there isn’t anything

Is it a PC or Laptop you have? I think you may be running Linpus Lite.

It is a PC : Acer aspire revo…

Are you able to use a terminal? If so, open “terminal” and then post the output of:

uname -a
cat /etc/issue
cat /proc/version
dmesg | head -1

Someone else on the forum mentioned having a Revo 3700 and it came with Linpus 9.5 pre-installed.

Is there anything in your menu’s called Package Manager, or YUM ?

BTW, if it is Linpus 9.5, I’d install another Linux distribution instead … Linpus 9.5 is based on Fedora 8 which is no longer recieving updates or security fixes … I’d suggest installing Ubuntu or Linux Mint instead.

see here:
http://linuxforums.org.uk/general-help-advice/how-do-i-install-linux-mint-on-a-linpus-machine-pls/

Some of the Revo’s also come with Ubuntu 9.04 :wink:

In that case, you need to open a terminal and enter:

cat /etc/*-release

and hit enter … and it will tell you if it is Ubuntu, and which version.

I don’t know what is a terminal (and i don’t see anything with this name) and I don’t see anything you mentioned…
I have a lot of application already installed and even when I am logged in as “root” it doesn’t change anything.
My operating system is "Linpus Linux X Windows 9.5 100623 V1, if it helps…