My linux won't boot up

Sorry, but I find it confusing where to place my problem - for me, too many options. I am a novice with Linux. All has been fine until my battery power failed before I could connect to charger. Then,after I connected, I found that the boot up failed. I tried rebooting a number of times. I tried both normal and safe mode but it does not bring up the desk top. I would appreciate any help if it can be explained simply. Just remember your early days. Thanks

Which Linux distribution (Ubuntu, Linux Mint, Linpus Lite, Fedora, etc.)

How far does the boot process get ?

Are there any error messages ?

Have you got a LiveCD ?

Many thanks for your speedy response. However, I have just closed down my laptop as my eyes (and mind) can’t take any more tonight. It has been driving me crazy trying every whichway I could think of.

You ask
Which Linux distribution (Ubuntu, Linux Mint, Linpus Lite, Fedora, etc.) How do I find which? Where do I look?

How far does the boot process get ? Will get this for tomorrow

Are there any error messages ? Will give details tomorrow. I know at the bottom of boot window it said ‘failed’ against the last item But when I tried to boot in ‘safe mode’ there was a green ‘OK’ at the bottom. But I could still not move on from there and it just stays on that page.

Have you got a LiveCD ? No, I have no CD

Will have it all set out tomorrow if you let me know the answers to the above.

Thanks again

Is this an Acer Aspire One running Linpus Lite by any chance ?

Linpus Lite, as installed by default on the Acer Aspire One

http://linuxforums.org.uk/MGalleryItem.php?id=1421

Couldn’t sleep so here goes

I think it is PCLinux OS Gnome 2010

On normal boot it boots to UNEXPECTED INCONSISTENCY: Run fsck manually (ie without -a or-p options

then
An error occurred during the file system check
dropping you to a shell: The system will reboot when you leave shell
Give root password for maintenance or Control -D to continue