New Member!

Hi all!!

I’ve only recently found this forum but I hope I’ll be here for a while!

I am a passionate Linux user at home and would love to move from my current Communication Technician job in the RAF into the professional Linux world.

Feel free to PM if you want to chat!

glitch

Hi glitch, and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

When you say “at home”, do the RAF/MOD still use Windows ?

Yes they do, Windows XP to be precise.

It makes me feel unclean… :frowning:

Oh dear … kind of makes light of the “security” in “security forces” a bit :wink:

I’m not knocking the armed forces BTW … ex RAF myself (A Tech P), long long time ago though :slight_smile:

Well from serviceman to serviceman I can tell you that the armed forces aren’t what they once were. I myself have only been in for 8 years but even within that short time I’ve seen my trade (new ICT Tech TG4 - old Eng Tech EL TG3) become entirely civilianised. I’m a qualified technician who isn’t allowed to do any technical work as it will breach the contract! So when you hear on the news that the MOD has had a security breach, it’s the civilian contractors who are to blame.

Saying that, if anyone feels I am ‘slagging off’ the Armed Forces then please hold that thought. Although a lot of things have changed we are still by far the most efficient and effective Armed Forces in the world when we do what we do best and I am proud to serve… I just don’t enjoy my day job!

This country is seriously going to the dogs … security by means of the lowest bidder … it would be laughable if I weren’t British, but a sad sign of the times I suppose.

I’m also guessing the use civilian contractors is what mandates the use of Windows … much cheaper/easier to find Windows techies than to train Linux ones.

I agree with you on that, everything is going to the lowest bidder. It makes you think what they must sacrifice to get that Aldi cheapness price.