new user nees help

i have had my acer aspire one linux laptop for a while now, but only recently have i had the desire to install and download new software. Whilst attempting to download psi messenger (i cant seem to receive offline messages on amsn messenger) i realised that i can download the program into my downloads folder but i dont know how to get the program onto my desktop and start running it. i have had this problem before whilst trying to install skype. i dont know what type of linix im running and i cant seem to find out either. any help would be appreciated, preferable in very simple language as im not very experienced!

Do you not have an option to install new software on the menus anywhere?
(Ubuntu/Mint have things like ‘Synaptic’ which just let you install new software via point and click… ??)

Also, for IM you should probably look at ‘Pidgin’, this is generally accepted as ‘the’ program to use on Linux …

i dont have the option to install new software anywhere, and with my downloads i only have the option to open with xavier.

Time to install the Ubuntu netbook edition (!)

You are probably using Linpus Lite (based on Fedora Core 8 ) which DOES have a package manager (synaptic) but by default it is hidden… you need to enable the XFCE Desktop (advanced mode).

Go to Files > My Documents to open the File Manager. Then go to (menus at top) File > Terminal.

When the terminal opens type:

xfce-setting-show

and hit enter to get the Xfce Settings Manager.

Click on Desktop to get to the Desktop Preferencs and choose the Behavior tab.

Now under Menus, tick the Show desktop menu on right click option and close the window.

This setting will allow you to bring up the normal desktop menu when you right click somewhere on the desktop. The Desktop Menu contains many more options than the limited user interface on the Aspire One.