Reverting to original settings of a programme

How do I revert back to the original state of a programme if I have made a mistake in setting it up? So far, I have found it hard, if not impossible to go back to how a programme or application was when it was initially downloaded. It looks like, in linux mint, once you have set up an application/programme and confirmed it, you cannot change that setting even if you uninstall the programme and reinstall it. Once reinstalled, the new installation retains the settings you want to get rid of. Could someone please tell me if there is a way to correct mistakes made during the set up period?

You could try purging the application while removing it:

sudo apt-get remove --purge <application>

then reinstalling it again

Which application ?

There’s a good chance it’s storing its settings somewhere in a folder in somewhere like

~/.application_name
or
~/.config/application_name
or
~/.local/share/application_name

you’ll need to delete those folders.


Personally I update the search index database by running:

sudo updatedb

then (using say ‘clipit’ here as an application example) do a case insensitive search for anything related to the application:

locate -i clipit

and delete anything that’s listed in my home folder.


99 time out of 100, the settings will be stored in their own folder inside:-

~/.config

but not always, for example the Firefox settings are in

~/.mozilla/firefox

Thanks for the suggestions guidance, I will make use of them and see what happens. Thanks again to all especially SeZo and Mark.