Seriously Considering Linux

I’m completely new to Linux, in fact I haven’t even installed it yet!

Is it worth installing on a second desktop pc?

I ask because I am rebuilding a HP Pavilion a1228.uk which will be upgraded to 2GB RAM with a 512MB PCIx Graphics Card. The debate is…do I reinstall Windows XP or do I go with Linux.

This machine will be used for basic photo editing/viewing and for playing World of Warcraft and Dead Space.

If I purely run Linux (with no dual boot for WinXP) which Linux OS do I get??

though it loathes me to say this, if you are going to use it to play games I’d stick with Windows or dual boot.

They will both play on Linux, running in WINE (think of it as a Windows emulator).

World of Warcraft

and
Dead Space

and are rated Platinum and Gold respectively, they are never going to run as well as they would “natively” under Windows.

If you still want to try therm in Linux, try to get an NVIDIA (geforce 5 or preferably better) graphics card rather than ATI.
(their drivers are better in Linux)

I would suggest either Ubuntu 10.10, or Linux Mint 10 (main GNOME edition) as probably the best Linux distributions for a beginner if for no other reason than you’ll find help/support/answers easier to find.

If you want to find Linux alternatives to popular Windows software, you’ll find a list here:

I use to play WoW on Linux once, actually got slightly better FPS than my XP.

If you are totally new to Linux, I would suggest having it as a 2nd PC or duel boot. As with anything in the IT world these days, there is so much to learn now due to progression and the successful development. THis is something a lot of experienced people seem to not realise as they “live with the growth”, is how hard it is for someone new to start in any IT field from the beginning. (Interesting article here on becoming an “IT superstar”)