Which distro for a high spec desktop pc?

Hi everyone, just registered as a new user. I’m a Linux newbie and I’ve come here to ask some questions which I can’t really find the answers to on the net, or at least what I have found has been vague. Ok, as the subject says, does anyone know or can suggest a distro that would compliment or run well on a high spec home desktop machine I have just built?
I had planned to install Win 7 on it as my old pc running XP will be abandoned in April next year by Microslop so I also realise my question might raise some eyebrows seeing as Linux distros seem primarily aimed at keeping older pcs alive but I’m getting cheesed off with Microslop messing their customers around and I think it’s time to jump ship and get control of my pc back to make it do what I want it to do. My use of the pc is general, play the odd game, rip a cd or two to ogg to play back on my media player in my car, edit the odd wav file that I’ve captured from an old lp record through the soundcard, etc etc.

The spec of my new machine is as follows:

Intel i5 4670K cpu
Asus Z87 Pro LGA1150 mobo
8Gb Vengeance Pro Black DDR3 2133MHz CL9 RAM
256GB Plextor M5 Pro Extreme SSD
Asus GeForce GTX 660Ti DirectCU II graphics card
Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD soundcard
LG GH24NS95 cd/dvd writer
It’s a given that I need internet access obviously and I would use the onboard network controller on the mobo (wired ethernet connection, not wifi).

I appreciate it’s getting very close to Xmas and people may be busy but any and all suggestions, hints and tips will be gratefully received.

Hi Eldon

Welcome to the forum

I wouldn’t say linux is primarily aimed at low spec PC’s although there are many distros that are, but there are also feature filled heavyweights such as Ubuntu & Mint, Mint would be my choice out of these 2 but you can still use a more lightweight distro like Peppermint (that would fly on your PC) and add the features you want,