Help with Shadow PC Install

Hey there,

I need help fixing my Shadow PC, I’ve been given a link to a post on how to do it but I’m really new to Linux and have no idea how to use the Terminal, is there anyone who can have a look at the link and put it into really detailed steps as I’m really confused.

Thank you so much for the help in advance! :slight_smile:

Hi, can I just clarify what it is we’re looking at …

You have an Ubuntu Linux system onto which you are trying to install what looks to be a commercial service (Shadow PC) which charges $32 a month … and they’ve pointed you at a community support site for help. Is this right, or am I looking at the wrong Shadow PC?

Either way, I’d need to see a download link for the client software and to know the version of Ubuntu you’re running. But you’re quite right, the link you’ve been given on it’s own isn’t all that helpful.

Hi madpenguin,

Thank you so much for replying!

Yes you’re right, I’ve installed the program and getting an error message, the customer support have pointed me to that article to fix the issue and I am SO new to Linux that I have no idea what it’s talking about.

https://shadow.tech/en-GB/shadow-apps

That’s the link to download the app and I clicked on the .deb (Debian, Ubuntu) file and it installs and opens up but then I’m faced with the error explained in that original web link I posted.

Many thanks!

Ok, so what the link seems to be saying is that the error might be the result of missing dependencies.

When you download a package (like this) typically it’s not self-contained and may rely on other packages that may or may not be installed on your computer. Now there are two ways to install .deb packages, the first is;

dpkg -i shadow-amd64.deb

This will attempt to install the package, and just the package. The second option would be;

apt install ./shadow-amd64.deb