Complete newbie to Linux needing advice

For years, I have been immersed in the Apple ecosystem and have recently decided to shift to PC.

To that end, I have purchased a refurbished Dell Lattitude 7940 laptop and expect delivery today. It is shipping with Windows 11 Pro, but I hoped to use a Linux distro instead.

As a complete normie, are there any distros for beginners that would work with the 7940? If so, are there any limitations or elements that will not work correctly that I need to be aware of?

As with any PC, I presume that one still requires anti-virus software. Are there any brands that work better with Linux than others?

Are there any other issues I need to be aware of as a complete novice?

Many thanks

Jay

Hi Jay, welcome to the Forum!

Most flavours of Linux run similar recent versions of the Linux Kernel, so fundamentally choice of distribution tends to be driven by hardware capability and user preference. Some desktops for example tend to use more memory than others, some have better support for third party graphics drivers, etc. Probably the best approach is to get hold of Linux removable media, and try out some different options without actually installing Linux on your machine. (i.e. run Linux directly off that removable media - say a USB key)

This will give you a feel for what your preference might be, and whether it has any issues detecting all of your hardware. You might like to take a quick look at this page; Multiboot USB Key 1.0 is Here!

Anti-virus is an interesting one. Some people will tell you ā€œyesā€ and point you at the software they use. From my perspective, I donā€™t think anti-virus software on Linux is useful. The ā€œwhyā€ of this is probably a very long-winded 1000 page essay, but to try to summarise;

1. The attack vectors for Windows are different to those for Linux. Many simply do not exist under Linux so many of the checks done on Windows systems just donā€™t apply under Linux.